French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This was a great recipe. I split the frosting up and added different food coloring to pipe onto the cake to decorate and everything turned out well. It was the first time I actually successfully decorated a cake! This was an easy recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Everyone loved this frosting; my mother even called and asked me how to make it! I did make a couple of changes though. I don't like to use shortening, so I used extended butter instead (oil, water, butter & lecithin) and omitted the butter flavoring (didn't have any!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
excellent- not too sweet- just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I love this frosting! I followed the directions and it came out great! Sure wish I had an electric mixer, but even with a hand mixer and almost 20 minutes of mixing it came out amazing! The only problem I had was after I had whipped it up, I decided to add my food coloring - the color was there, but it looked a little "grainy." Never the less, it tasted awesome and the cake turned out beautiful. Oh, I did make flowers with it just fine. Used a pastry bag and popped out some daisies with stems & leaves - it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
The shortening taste is out front. It gives it a greasy texture and after taste. I did use less shortening and added more sugar to mask the taste. The frosting wasn't fluffy or light. The recipe makes more than enough to frost a 8" cake. Have to say my children really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I tried this recipe last weekend. The texture was great as compared to other Buttercreams that aren't cooked. I thought I did something wrong because it was not soupy, but it came out good. The only thing I would do differently the next time is no butter flavored extract. Made it too sweet or something. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I have been looking for a recipe like this for years. I remember my mom making icing that was creamy but not too sweet. This was perfect. a nice sweet topping for cake (and probably cookies too) but not too sweet. I could see adding different flavour extracts and colours to make it good on a great variety of cakes and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is a WONDERFUL recipe!!! It's great for those that don't like the traditional buttercream frosting due to it being too sweet. This is sweet but it's not over-indulgingly (sp?) sweet. Those that are complaining about the shortening taste, you should try using butterflavored shortening. That is what I used and I thought it was perfect. I used it to frost a 9" two layer cake and had plenty left over. Try it, you won't be dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Excellent recipe. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Excellent, smooth texture! I used 3 Tbsp. flour and added an extra 1/2 cup powdered sugar, and I substituted margarine for the shortning. VERY easy to spread, and it was so light and fluffy! Not as sweet as "typical" frostings, which I liked. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States