French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Great taste. My children love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
THESE WERE GREAT! I made them for my social studies class and they loved them. I did the chocolate version. They are delicious, light, fluffy, and perfect in general. MMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used part cake flour (about one third of the total) owing to a Cook's Illustrated recipe and I added 1/4tsp orange flower water. They were heavenly. And they looked so perfect that they could have come from a bakery. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
These are the best madeleines I have ever made. This was the pastry that Marcel Proust enjoyed for inspiration - and it seems to have worked for him! The only problem with the recipe is that it yields so few of the cookies. I doubled the recipe last time and I only made about 16 servings. My madeleine pan is a little bit larger, but still, the cookies were gone in less than fifteen minutes. Usually a good thing, but I had wanted to enjoy a couple later. I added a touch of honey and I thought it turned out to be phenomenal. Good luck and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I love these. I have made them many times, and they always turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Divine with rosewater, too...and a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Wonderful recipe. The instructions were good and easy to follow. I've never had or made a Madeleine before but this recipe will change all that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I was in a jam and had to come up with something quick and simple and boy was this it! My husband couldn't get enough of them. I can't wait to make them again. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajiurato

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These cakes were fantastic and so moist and lemony! I gave them out as Christmas gifts and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Yummy recipe, my husband liked it very much.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States