French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made these for a project...they were delicious.I would use one egg next time and decrease the amount of flour, lemon zest,and vanilla extract. Thanks. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These are amazing! I made them for my husband to take to the office and they loved them! I made both chocolate and almond/dipped in chocolate. I just substituted 3/4 tsp almond for the lemon zest (mixed in at the same time as the vanilla) and they came just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I've tryed many madeleine recipes and none came out this good. I did put 1 tablespoon of vanilla, and once they came out of the oven and started to cool down i put confection sugar on them. Deff. try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Perfect recipe!! Whole family loved these delicate cookies. I bought my pan a year ago and finally made madeleines. Like other reviewer said, no need to by expensive non stick pan, grease and flour as directed and they pop out fine. I even greased and dusted with sugar instead of flour, worked great. These are authentic in taste, light and airy. If you want dense ones (like what starbucks sells), you can double the butter; but then you are really eating mini pound cakes, not madeleines. I had to beat the eggs/sugar mixture the full 10 minutes. I think this is the first recipe I reviewed that was 100% accurate and did not need one thing changed to perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I didn't have lemons so I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon extract. They were very good. I can only imagine how delicious they will be with real lemon zest. You do have to watch the oven time. Mine were done at almost 9 minutes and I used the big size Madeleine pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
What a great recipe! I doubled it and made exactly 3 trays (36 madeleines). They were superb - light as air!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I halved the vanilla, added 2 teaspoons rosewater, and used confectioner's sugar, cake flour, and browned butter. The proportions given by the recipe were perfect, and these changes made it outstanding. I also did not have any problems with sticking to the pan, though I used mini madeleine pans. (This recipe made just over 3 pans of minis, or about 65 tiny madeleines.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
These cookies are absolutely fabulous. They're really simple to make and taste delicious. I know it's a bit disappointing that the batch only makes a dozen, but that's for the best since they're best eaten the day they're made. Not that that's an issue- these cookies will be gone long before the day is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Photo by pinkingofyou
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Simply wonderful! I love the lemon zest it really gave it a burst of flavor. As an inexperienced Madeleine maker this recipe was extremely easy and uncomplicated. I cooked them in a 3" silicone Madeleine mold that made six. This is a recipe worth trying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CakeFACE
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I think this recipe is great! The only thing I would change would be to bake them for less time. I always go with the shorter time suggested on recipes, but 14 minutes was a little too long for these. I would suggest baking them for 12 minutes and letting them cool. Otherwise they get really dry. Other than that, I think my hunt for a madeleine recipe is over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States