French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made these for the first time today and what a hit! My husband ate most of them which is impressive since he doesn't usually like desserts. These turned out so soft, spongy and moist. I used my Kitchen aid mixer on super super high speed and made sure I followed the recipe exactly, using the high speed for about 7 minutes. I used the pan which is not non-stick but I buttered it well and floured it and they didn't stick to the pan at all! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent! Just make sure not to over bake them. I used the mold for miniature madeleines, and found that in my oven, nine minutes produced the ideal result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Thanks for the great recipe.My whole family liked it very much..... Definately I make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Spongie and sweet, not too light and not too dense. Great for dunking in hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJodway

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Dip 1/2 of cookie into melted chocolate, vanilla, or strawberry for a great way to add taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought this was a pretty good recipe. The directions were easy to follow to. The only change I made was using only 1/4 tsp. of grated lemon zest, because I always feel the flavor is over-powering in recipes. I didn't know what to expect these to taste like. They kind of remind me of individual yellow cakes dusted with powder sugar. It works for me because I do not care for frosting too much. The recipe makes it seem that the cakes will come out of the pan immedietly. I had to wait about 10 minutes just like other cakes for them to pop out. I used a plastic butter knife to slide around the edges as my pan was non-stick on that part of the directions. I enjoyed trying this new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These have great flavor. I added tiny chocolate chips and tipped the cake with melted chocolate. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Thank you for making our work easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very, very light, moist and tasty! Super easy to make. They were a hit at my son's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I have never been tempted to review a great recipe... until now!! I'm not crazy about desserts but this is the first sweet treat I have experienced love at first bite in a long time. I'm am also no big on sliced cake or cupcakes. Madeleines are the best for portion control. These little cakes are the lightest, airiest, tastiest things. Do not use anymore flour than suggested, this is the biggest mistake. You want to taste eggy, buttery, vanillary, light and not dense and floury. If you do not have an electric mixer, or are too lazy to whip them for 10 minutes, you can put 1/4 tsp of baking powder. Mine come out perfectly light and airy. I added more sugar and vanilla than suggested, and it was perfectly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States