French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I was glad this recipe had a video to follow. These Madeleines came out fragrant and dense, sort of like a little bite of pound cake. They tested done with a toothpick at 11 minutes, so I would suggest to check them at around 10 minutes. They were pale, but definitely done. I made them the day before Christmas Eve, and froze them when they were cool, as we were not going to have them till the day after Christmas and I was afraid they would get stale if I left them on the counter for 3 days. They are great dunked into hot coffee, as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very easy to follow and they turned out beautifully. In my oven it needed only 12 minutes so for your first batch watch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I just made these (at 3 in the morning!) and they were really good. I didn't have any lemons, but I did have lemon juice, so I added about 1/2 teaspoon of the juice (should have added more to get more of lemon flavour, but I like the hinted lemon in my Madeleines). And my oven hates me, so it baked my cookies a little dark, but the crispy edges go really well with the light and cake-y (?) center. Yum-mm! I got inpatient with my batter, and didn't beat it for the full 5 to 10 minutes (it didn't get to the thick and ribbony part) but they still came out great. I am making these for my family for Christmas, and I think I'll try different flavors (rum, cinnamon, chocolate, orange, and maybe some of them dipped in chocolate?). I'm so excited to bake more of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Bellerive

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! My mother is from France, so she really loves that I can make these homemade- and she thinks they are better than most French ones. I've found two small things that makes these way better-1. Use a small bowl to mix. For some reason it makes the eggs way smoother and the entire recipe is more fluffy. 2. Bake them for only 10-12 minutes. At least with my oven, they got way to crispy for anything more. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good Madeleines! I made two 20 2 inch cakes with this recipe and they disapeared before they were cool. My kids love them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alternativemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great and easy recipe, minimal ingredients and preparation. Made it for the first time yesterday and they were awesome, but I would shorten the baking time by a little next time since I have a non-stick pan and they looked very brown (not burnt though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocha
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i was expecting these little madeleines turns out to be more moist and buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocha
Home Town: Changsha, Hunan Province, China
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Recipe was very easy to make and came out almost perfect. The Madeleines came out beautifully and great when warm but then as they cooled they were not as airy. Perhaps this is they way they should be. However, I would have preferred a more buttery and airy cake. I used regular large eggs, non salted sweet butter and madagascar vanilla. Perhaps tweaking the quality/grade of the ingredients will make the improvement. But I still rate it a 5 because they were extremely easy to make, delicious and everyone loved them. I would highly recommend a strong mixer. I have a Kitchen Aid Pro which made beating the batter easy. Would like to see someone post what "thick and pale ribbons form" looks like ( as specified in step 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I tried a professional chef recipe and this works better! I used vanilla sugar for added flavor. These are best hot from the pan, but are still light after they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I was disappointed in the final product. I followed the recipe to the letter and found that resulting madeleines were a bit rubbery and overly lemony. They weren't unpleasant...just not the delicacy I was expecting from the other reviews. They were missing the subtlety in texture and flavor of a really good madeleine. I think that Proust would have only been inspired to write a Harlequin romance after eating this. I also found that the batter yielded only enough for 10 madeleines. I thought I'd overfilled, but they ended up coming out at exactly the right size. Perhaps my "large" eggs were too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States