French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good Madeleines! I made two 20 2 inch cakes with this recipe and they disapeared before they were cool. My kids love them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alternativemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great and easy recipe, minimal ingredients and preparation. Made it for the first time yesterday and they were awesome, but I would shorten the baking time by a little next time since I have a non-stick pan and they looked very brown (not burnt though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocha
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i was expecting these little madeleines turns out to be more moist and buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocha
Home Town: Changsha, Hunan Province, China
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Recipe was very easy to make and came out almost perfect. The Madeleines came out beautifully and great when warm but then as they cooled they were not as airy. Perhaps this is they way they should be. However, I would have preferred a more buttery and airy cake. I used regular large eggs, non salted sweet butter and madagascar vanilla. Perhaps tweaking the quality/grade of the ingredients will make the improvement. But I still rate it a 5 because they were extremely easy to make, delicious and everyone loved them. I would highly recommend a strong mixer. I have a Kitchen Aid Pro which made beating the batter easy. Would like to see someone post what "thick and pale ribbons form" looks like ( as specified in step 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I tried a professional chef recipe and this works better! I used vanilla sugar for added flavor. These are best hot from the pan, but are still light after they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I was disappointed in the final product. I followed the recipe to the letter and found that resulting madeleines were a bit rubbery and overly lemony. They weren't unpleasant...just not the delicacy I was expecting from the other reviews. They were missing the subtlety in texture and flavor of a really good madeleine. I think that Proust would have only been inspired to write a Harlequin romance after eating this. I also found that the batter yielded only enough for 10 madeleines. I thought I'd overfilled, but they ended up coming out at exactly the right size. Perhaps my "large" eggs were too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Very good recipe. They were fluffy and light (hopefully like the real ones..). There's no need for baking powder - it can spoil the taste. It was 2nd time I baked madeleines. Next time I have to get the 'ribbons'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I bought my self a madeleine pan and found this recipe. Yum! Not that much work for such a tasty pay off. The chocolate version rarely lasts long enough around my kitchen to ice, but they are great with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Very nice recipe. I found that when I used my 12 by 3 inch pan it made 18 madeleins. I also removed the zest and added cinnamon instead. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Make sure to butter the pan before pouring and it works like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States