French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I tried a professional chef recipe and this works better! I used vanilla sugar for added flavor. These are best hot from the pan, but are still light after they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I was disappointed in the final product. I followed the recipe to the letter and found that resulting madeleines were a bit rubbery and overly lemony. They weren't unpleasant...just not the delicacy I was expecting from the other reviews. They were missing the subtlety in texture and flavor of a really good madeleine. I think that Proust would have only been inspired to write a Harlequin romance after eating this. I also found that the batter yielded only enough for 10 madeleines. I thought I'd overfilled, but they ended up coming out at exactly the right size. Perhaps my "large" eggs were too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Very good recipe. They were fluffy and light (hopefully like the real ones..). There's no need for baking powder - it can spoil the taste. It was 2nd time I baked madeleines. Next time I have to get the 'ribbons'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I bought my self a madeleine pan and found this recipe. Yum! Not that much work for such a tasty pay off. The chocolate version rarely lasts long enough around my kitchen to ice, but they are great with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Very nice recipe. I found that when I used my 12 by 3 inch pan it made 18 madeleins. I also removed the zest and added cinnamon instead. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Make sure to butter the pan before pouring and it works like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Absolutely scrumptious! I too have a mini pan and tried them at 8 minutes as recommended on the directions. They came out a little more golden than I have seen before, but my oven's a bit unpredictable so they were baked at slightly higher than 375. However, now that I look again, they do look just as caramel-colored as the photo here. They were perfectly cooked in any case - just sweet enough, light and soft yet with a scrumptious crunch. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved this recipe! I substituted the vanilla extract for orange emulsion and dipped the back of the Madeleine's in chocolate. I hope they turn out well! The recipe doesn't make enough to fill a whole pan, I encountered the same issue as some other's who have reviewed, but I still love they way these are turning out! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Fantastic and easy to use recipe. The most important step is quickly mixing the eggs, vanilla, salt and sugar so it's light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made these for the first time today and what a hit! My husband ate most of them which is impressive since he doesn't usually like desserts. These turned out so soft, spongy and moist. I used my Kitchen aid mixer on super super high speed and made sure I followed the recipe exactly, using the high speed for about 7 minutes. I used the pan which is not non-stick but I buttered it well and floured it and they didn't stick to the pan at all! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States