French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
change 1/2 teaspoon to 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
We have updated this recipe to include a second rising time after the loaf is formed. We have also added ingredients for the egg wash to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I used this brioche recipe to make a recipe from the food network show Barefoot Contessa called Summer Pudding. I made the brioche twice and found that I preferred using a little more sugar and 2 teaspoons of yeast. For the summer pudding, I made a syrup with a couple packages of fresh frozen mixed berries, water, corn starch and brandy extract, then layered it with slices of de-crusted brioche, weighted it and set it overnight. The results were spectacular! I served this at my neice's baby blessing reception to rave reviews. Since the majority of the moisture in the dough comes from fat, the brioche makes the pudding rich and utterly delicious. I wouldn't recommend eating brioche plain, but in a dessert or with a stew, amazing! Great job, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Photo by cyril
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe to mix in breadmaker and then braid by hand. The extra dry yeast definitely helps and a teaspoon of salt also improves the balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Great recipe for Breadmaker, makes brioche soooo easy. I did increase the Yeast slightly and added very finely grated Lemon Zest. Makes a wonderful Tea Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
As the recipe stands, I'd give it 4 stars, but with the alterations suggested by other reviewers, it ws a 5. As suggested, I increased the yeast, sugar (nearly doubled,) and added a pinch more salt. The center of the braid was a bit doughy when baked per the diretions, but I had some difficulty rolling the strips so may have made them too thick (the braid was about 14" long). Delicious served with pulled pork on top. The slightly sweet bread compliments the smokey, BBQ flavor of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
If your dough seems dry, don't be afraid to hydrate with a little extra water, it wont hurt the dough. Also, Make sure to let the dough rise once for about an hour before shaping it. I would recommend folding the dough at 30 minutes to degas the dough and distribute heat evenly. To fold, turn the dough out onto a floured table and bring the left side two thirds across the dough giving it a slight stretch and patting to down. Next, bring the right side all the way to the edge of the left side (think letter fold), again giving the dough a slight tug as you bring it across. Repeat the same fold from top to bottom. Return the dough to the mixing bowl and let sit for remaining 30 minutes. When egg washing. I would not add water to the whites. This will only dilute your wash mixture and you will not get as pretty of a shine. When baking, you want the final crust color to be more brown then golden. Try baking at a bit higher of a temperature (375) The dough will start to take on a beautiful rusted color. However, the inside will still be a delicious pale golden. a variation I like to do with this dough is roll it out flat, spread marscapone cheese that has been mixed with a little sugar and citrus flavoring over the center third, then layer strawberries and blueberries on top. fold the outer two thirds over the center. brush with whites and sprinkle with sparkling or cane sugar and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Takes a while to make, but tastes delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!! I've been looking for this exact dough recipe for years!! And finally....success!! What a wonderfully tender dough! I used this dough to make sticky buns and they were by far the best homemade sticky buns I have ever eaten. Even my husband says that they rival those you can find in a great bakery. I look forward to making this dough plain to make breakfast rolls that cream cheese & jam can be spread on. Very versitile and yummy!! You won't be disapointed!! The bread machine makes this especially easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I also increased the sugar and yeast and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough. It was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States