French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this following the recipe exactly and after having never made brioche before. The recipe doesn't mention that you need to let it rise for a couple of hours and therefore, my brioche was a total disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
As the recipe stands, I'd give it 4 stars, but with the alterations suggested by other reviewers, it ws a 5. As suggested, I increased the yeast, sugar (nearly doubled,) and added a pinch more salt. The center of the braid was a bit doughy when baked per the diretions, but I had some difficulty rolling the strips so may have made them too thick (the braid was about 14" long). Delicious served with pulled pork on top. The slightly sweet bread compliments the smokey, BBQ flavor of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!! I've been looking for this exact dough recipe for years!! And finally....success!! What a wonderfully tender dough! I used this dough to make sticky buns and they were by far the best homemade sticky buns I have ever eaten. Even my husband says that they rival those you can find in a great bakery. I look forward to making this dough plain to make breakfast rolls that cream cheese & jam can be spread on. Very versitile and yummy!! You won't be disapointed!! The bread machine makes this especially easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cyril
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe to mix in breadmaker and then braid by hand. The extra dry yeast definitely helps and a teaspoon of salt also improves the balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Too eggy to eat plain but made a great bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I also increased the sugar and yeast and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough. It was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
too eggy tasting for me, although my husband liked the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I used this brioche recipe to make a recipe from the food network show Barefoot Contessa called Summer Pudding. I made the brioche twice and found that I preferred using a little more sugar and 2 teaspoons of yeast. For the summer pudding, I made a syrup with a couple packages of fresh frozen mixed berries, water, corn starch and brandy extract, then layered it with slices of de-crusted brioche, weighted it and set it overnight. The results were spectacular! I served this at my neice's baby blessing reception to rave reviews. Since the majority of the moisture in the dough comes from fat, the brioche makes the pudding rich and utterly delicious. I wouldn't recommend eating brioche plain, but in a dessert or with a stew, amazing! Great job, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Great recipe for Breadmaker, makes brioche soooo easy. I did increase the Yeast slightly and added very finely grated Lemon Zest. Makes a wonderful Tea Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Takes a while to make, but tastes delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States