French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this recipe with the alterations others suggested, but think this recipe would be good with less sugar and yeast as well. It depends on whether you like your brioche sweet or eggy. Personally, I like it sweet enough to just eat, so the alterations worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I also increased the yeast to 2 tsp. This bread works out wonderfully in a bread machine. Mine is an older Breadman. It is very soft and just a lovely. The dough is easy to work with and easy to braid. Thanks to whomever posted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I baked this bread for my family this Christmas, after they had been to France. A local in France had told them that "if you have ham, you must have brioche". This recipe, according to them, was just like the bread they ate there. I used the machine for the whole process by choosing the "Basic" setting on my machine and a "Medium" crust darkness. Very rich and lovely bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Loved this recipe! instead of making a challah like loaf, i made little rolls shaped like traditional brioche. To do this, i set aside a sixth of the dough. The rest of the dough i divided into 12 pieces, rolled into balls, and then put in a cupcake/muffin pan. I split the sectioned dough into 12 pieces, rolling each of the pieces into a small ball. I then made an indent on top of the rolls and put a small ball in each. I baked these 17 minutes instead of 20 and they came out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCheerio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was good. I added more yeast and more sugar and I still thought I could have added more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
We have updated this recipe to include a second rising time after the loaf is formed. We have also added ingredients for the egg wash to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this following the recipe exactly and after having never made brioche before. The recipe doesn't mention that you need to let it rise for a couple of hours and therefore, my brioche was a total disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
As the recipe stands, I'd give it 4 stars, but with the alterations suggested by other reviewers, it ws a 5. As suggested, I increased the yeast, sugar (nearly doubled,) and added a pinch more salt. The center of the braid was a bit doughy when baked per the diretions, but I had some difficulty rolling the strips so may have made them too thick (the braid was about 14" long). Delicious served with pulled pork on top. The slightly sweet bread compliments the smokey, BBQ flavor of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!! I've been looking for this exact dough recipe for years!! And finally....success!! What a wonderfully tender dough! I used this dough to make sticky buns and they were by far the best homemade sticky buns I have ever eaten. Even my husband says that they rival those you can find in a great bakery. I look forward to making this dough plain to make breakfast rolls that cream cheese & jam can be spread on. Very versitile and yummy!! You won't be disapointed!! The bread machine makes this especially easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cyril
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe to mix in breadmaker and then braid by hand. The extra dry yeast definitely helps and a teaspoon of salt also improves the balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States