French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
WOW! Very nice bread! Made the changes as mentioned in the other reviews IE 1t of salt, 2t's of active dry yeast, almost double the sugar, and did the second rise after I braided the loaves (doubled the recipe and made two huge loaves!). Took them to a French themed cooking club dinner last night and all the bread was gone in no time! For the 2 loaves I used 3/4c of sugar and it was right on for me. A big yes for adding salt also. I can't imagine this with out salt! I let the loaves proof for about 30 minutes and had fantastic oven spring! Only problem I had was my fault. I didn't work the dough out to a long enough length nor fast enough and the loaf came out very wide and the braids didn't stick real good during the bake an thus fell apart once in a while when the bread was cut. No big deal as it made it a little easier to put on the your plate. This is a rich recipe and will make it again. I think I'm going to make "Clone of Cinnabon" from this site with this dough next week! Can't have too many "fat pills" in the house! HELP ME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Photo by VALENZANO
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This turned out beautifully. I used 1/2 bread flour because I ran out of APF, and unsalted butter, so it could have used more salt. Which basically means it will be better the next time and it was pretty darn good already with the subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I subbed wheat flour for 1/3 of the flour and increased the yeast to 2tsp as others ad suggested and it came out great. Also added extra rise time after forming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I did everything perfect, as directed. If you like Eggs and bread all in one, then this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This came out AMAZING and was so easy because I cooked it from start to finish in the bread machine with additional yeast. I was afraid the recipe might be too big so I cut it to 10 servings using 1 1/2 tsp yeast. The flavor and texture is wonderful and will make awesome french toast in the morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It seems there is an error in the list of ingredients. I am wondering if the 1/2 tsp yeast was meant to be 1/2 tsp salt and the amt of yeast should be about 2 tsp or one packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
YUM!!! This was tender, buttery, delicious! I'm a total novice, and it was easy to make. I plan to give these out for Christmas presents along with some special preserves. I've been using this site for years, and this is the first time I've ever reviewed a recipe. I HAD to! It's awesome!!!! I can't wait until tomorrow, when I can use it for french toast. Thanks SO much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really liked this as did my family. I read the reviews and decided to use 1 pkg of yeast, tsp of salt and doubled the sugar. I then made it into one big loaf. Here is where I ran into problems (my own). I really should have divided the dough into two loaves because I had a HUGE loaf of bread. I baked it for a total of 35 minutes having covered it with foil after 20. I also used my kitchenaid to mix this. Again, very good and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Lovely soft bread with thick crisp crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Fabulous! Added 2tsp yeast and double the sugar as others suggested. Let rise over an hour before putting in oven. I put this in a tall baking dish which I use for casseroles to cook. If you do this, put a pan on rack above and below to prevent burning. (more info on this Beautiful crusty topped brioche with perfect center. Not too sweet at all. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States