French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very tasty & so quick to make, though they are muffins, not puffs! The only change I would make is to reduce salt from ½ to ? tspn. I'm not sure if this will effect leavening (the baking powder should be enough). Like many, I cook & bake to control salt for my low-sodium diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very good, could have eaten the whole batch of them the night I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
These are so good and really easy. I added some cinnamon to the batter for a little extra flavor and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These are scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I haven't actually made THIS recipe - but the one I make with the same name is SO close to this and I wanted to link my picture up with a recipe! ;D The ONLY difference is that my recipe calls for butter instead of margarine, and it makes more so some of the measurements are different, but all ingredients are the same. These are the BOMB and everyone in my house will tell you the same. My son screamed like a girl when he found out I was making these this morning! So good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I've made these twice over the last week, they were THAT much of a hit. Both times, I omitted the baking powder (I'm out!) and used 1 teaspoon of baking soda and replaced the milk with buttermilk (1/2 tablespoon vinegar w/ 1/2 cup milk). This is a really great substitution! I also used butter instead of shortening the first time, and the second time I used half butter and half canola oil -- I did not notice a difference in the final product. My kids absolutely LOVE these; doubling the recipe is a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
wow, now these are good, even better than beaver tails! Dipped once then rolled in butter and dipped again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These were pretty yummy. I agree with other reviewers that when I think of puff, I think of a pastry, so the taste is unexpected - just like a cake donut. Next time, I'll try to switch the shortening to butter. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I add a cream cheese drizzle to the top and they taste like a cinnamon roll muffin. Moist and delicious every time. Oh, I also add cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was a great breakfast for my kiddos and me. We have a 45 minute drive to church on Sundays and this is going to be great for the drive. I baked them a bit long and might try adding more milk next time. My kids loved them!! We had them with fruit and yogurt smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marthasville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States