French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I loved these breakfast puffs. I have made them several times already and plan on making more in the future. Marcie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
These are very tasty even without rolling the entire muffin in the melted butter and cinnamon/sugar. And I read the reviews that had some confusion about where the sugar goes. The recipe is very clear about creaming the sugar and shortening together, not adding the sugar with the flour! And the second bit of sugar is mixed with cinnamon for the topping...I'm guessing either the recipe has changed or was not read very carefully at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriouslight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
the breakfast puffs are sooo good! people needs to try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great recipe. As I read from other reviews the best is using the mini muffin pans and almost making what we call in Canada Timbits but in the States Donut holes. So very very good! Also I use icing sugar instead of regular white sugar! YUMMmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow! These are delicious!!! My kids can't get enough of them...and they're so easy! This will become a breakfast favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These were yummy. I made 24 mini-muffins and ate about six of them before they made the plate. I will try some add-ins, like banana or strawberry next. Thanks for bringing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrMomz
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Have loved these since childhood. Thanks for posting this! To reduce glycemic impact a bit, I used 1/4 C Splenda and 1/4 C agave syrup in muffins, and reduced milk slightly to compensate for the extra liquid. I also doubled the nutmeg (by accident, but it turned out well. I will do this again.) Consider turning down heat to 300 in last 10 minutes because agave browns quickly. Agave syrup makes the muffins wonderfully delicate and golden inside, and moister than the Splenda by itself. For cinnamon/sugar topping, we always use a Tablespoon of the cinnamon instead of a teaspoon. Highly recommend McCormick's Saigon Cinnamon. I used another sweetener blend, this time half regular sugar and half stevia-based granulated sweetener, to mix with the cinnamon. Very happy with results. Next time I will try 1/3 cup whole wheat flour and 2/3 white flour to see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These taste just like donuts, so I turn them into baked donuts by baking them in a donut pan (I have both regular and mini size pans). I do some with cinnamon and sugar, some with confectioner's sugar, and some glazed, so people can chose their favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Instead of shortening, I used butter. I also used whole wheat white flour and buttermilk. When dropping them into the mini muffin tins, I used my small cookie scoop not only to make uniform sized muffins but it was just easier to make just the right amount for each muffin cup. I also used butter for the "dip" part, too. My family basically had these gone in a matter of seconds. Next time, I'll double the recipe and I think I'll add a little more spice when I make it and maybe some vanilla or maple flavoring to the "puff" part. NOTE: When you make these, be sure to watch them carefully as you reach the end of baking time. Mine were a bit overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My mother makes something similar to this and was looking for her recipe at an odd hour. The puffs are rather hard and chewy, not light and fluffy like I've had before. It's a good idea, but the recipe needs some tweeking to address the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.Otte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States