French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I added butter instead of shortening, added 2 tsp. vanilla and 1 C. fresh blueberries. Left every thing else the same. The best ever. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
For those that think the recipe is wrong,it's not. You cream the 1/2 cup sugar with the shortening. Salt goes in with the flour. The other half cup sugar is mixed with the cinnamon to top the puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We have always rolled the entire muffin in melted butter, then the cinnamon and sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Easy to make and tasty...especially hot out of the oven with coffee! Made it exactly as recipe says and we all enjoyed it. Next time I'll try it with the vanilla which sounds great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Just made these this morning...yummy! They are definitely dense but my kids loved them and they were easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except: I added vanilla to the sugar and shortening before mixing it in with the dry ingredients. And we used our cake pop pan...we had perfect little donut holes! So easy to butter and sugar the entire ball. I put the kids in charge of that part! They had a "ball"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These definitely are delicious, slightly sweet, bite-sized treats! You might be tempted as I was to nibble on them on all day...! My husband just loved these with a nice cup of coffee. I used butter instead of shortening and I happen to like spices so I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg in these plus 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. The end result is a very light, moist, irresistable little treat that's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Used butter vs. margarine and shortening. Sadly not as delicious as I had anticipated, but alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Oh these are so good. If you do not like nutmeg suggest you add some vanilla. Also, I use half butter rather than all shortening and it gives a richer flavor. Thanks for something simple and good........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I have made these French Breakfast Puffs since I was in high school in the early 70's. They are excellent! It's one of my standard favorite recipes. I always sift the flour before combining it with the other ingredients. I tried this recipe once without doing that and they just didn't taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe that I used over thirty years ago. I did not use the nutmeg and often added chopped pecans or blueberries. It was a family favortie and I lost the recipe. Mine were called Pecan Puffs. I am sure it is the same basic recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States