French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Used butter vs. margarine and shortening. Sadly not as delicious as I had anticipated, but alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Oh these are so good. If you do not like nutmeg suggest you add some vanilla. Also, I use half butter rather than all shortening and it gives a richer flavor. Thanks for something simple and good........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I have made these French Breakfast Puffs since I was in high school in the early 70's. They are excellent! It's one of my standard favorite recipes. I always sift the flour before combining it with the other ingredients. I tried this recipe once without doing that and they just didn't taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe that I used over thirty years ago. I did not use the nutmeg and often added chopped pecans or blueberries. It was a family favortie and I lost the recipe. Mine were called Pecan Puffs. I am sure it is the same basic recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jex
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Easy, fast, and yummy!! Love this recipe! This reminds me a little of what I crave (but don't get) from pancakes. Moist, light flavor, tender. Nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Delicious! Goes perfectly with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These made 15 cinnamon puffs and they were gone before they were all dipped and rolled...Have to make more...It took a complete stick of butter, not just the 6 Tablespoons, as stated...of course, I did not put them in papers, but greased the muffin tins well enough to get the puffs to 'fall' out...I dipped the whole puff in butter and rolled it in the cinnamon/sugar mixture...that's the way to do it! Fabulous! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Yummy! My Mom used to make these. If you're substituting margarine for the shortening, (like me) be sure to cut the salt, or omit it altogether. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were excellent. Substituted butter for shortening and margarine. Did regular size muffins, but I agree that mini would be better (I was too impatient for small batches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I didn't like this recipe at all; thought it was bland and the muffins were heavy. The recipe for French Puff Muffins from Williams-Sonoma Muffin cookbook are made with buttermilk and must lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States