French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We have always rolled the entire muffin in melted butter, then the cinnamon and sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Easy to make and tasty...especially hot out of the oven with coffee! Made it exactly as recipe says and we all enjoyed it. Next time I'll try it with the vanilla which sounds great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Just made these this morning...yummy! They are definitely dense but my kids loved them and they were easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except: I added vanilla to the sugar and shortening before mixing it in with the dry ingredients. And we used our cake pop pan...we had perfect little donut holes! So easy to butter and sugar the entire ball. I put the kids in charge of that part! They had a "ball"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These definitely are delicious, slightly sweet, bite-sized treats! You might be tempted as I was to nibble on them on all day...! My husband just loved these with a nice cup of coffee. I used butter instead of shortening and I happen to like spices so I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg in these plus 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. The end result is a very light, moist, irresistable little treat that's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Used butter vs. margarine and shortening. Sadly not as delicious as I had anticipated, but alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Oh these are so good. If you do not like nutmeg suggest you add some vanilla. Also, I use half butter rather than all shortening and it gives a richer flavor. Thanks for something simple and good........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I have made these French Breakfast Puffs since I was in high school in the early 70's. They are excellent! It's one of my standard favorite recipes. I always sift the flour before combining it with the other ingredients. I tried this recipe once without doing that and they just didn't taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe that I used over thirty years ago. I did not use the nutmeg and often added chopped pecans or blueberries. It was a family favortie and I lost the recipe. Mine were called Pecan Puffs. I am sure it is the same basic recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jex
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Easy, fast, and yummy!! Love this recipe! This reminds me a little of what I crave (but don't get) from pancakes. Moist, light flavor, tender. Nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Delicious! Goes perfectly with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States