French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This has been a long time family favorite! My mom used to make them for us and now I make them for my children. The kids like to do the dipping, so it's fun for everyone!(I use powdered sugar and cinnamon instead of regular sugar to dip)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I liked these...ALOT! This is a very consistant recipe..I have made these twice and both times they turned out the same-DELICIOUS! I made these in regular muffin tins (I didn't have a mini muffin tin) and they filled 12 about half way. I used wheat flour instead of white, butter instead of shortening. I used Muscavado sugar (a whole form of sugar) instead of white and I added cinnamon. These were light and my husband and I both loved them. I had been jonesing for donuts and this is a cross between a sugar-cinnamon cake donut and coffee cake-Awesome recipe!!!Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I love these. they come out perfect and if you like doughnuts but don't want to spend the time these are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Pretty good. Add cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Made these for my 2 1/2-year old nephew. He approves, and so do the rest of us! The small amount of nutmeg gives them a different, but really good, sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These were delicious, like cinnamon-sugar donuts in muffin form! I did spice up the batter, I was worried it would be too bland - I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla, and for the nutmeg I used freshly grated nutmeg and didn't measure how much I put in, but it was probably about 1/2 tsp. I also subbed butter for the shortening. It smelled delicious coming out of the oven; I baked for 25 mins, which gave a nice all-around crust but left the inside with a nice crumb. Then I dipped the top in butter but rolled the whole muffin in the cinnamon/sugar mix; it stuck all over the muffin even without the butter. The topping amounts given are way too much for 12 regular size muffins; I would cut them in half (3 Tbs melted butter, 1/4 cup sugar, and 1 tsp cinnamon). It was very sweet, like a donut; best for when you're having people over so you don't eat them all yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Bland. Not as light and fluffy as I would have thought they would be. The only real bright spot of these muffins, and this could be done with ANY muffins, is the dipping the tops in butter and sugar/cinnamon at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This were good but kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Mmmmmm delish.....lthese are light and just sinfully good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I expected these to be fluffy but instead they were quite dense. I did not add sugar to flour mix, the recipe is unclear and the result was bland...maybe I should have? Also, only made 10 muffins and were still dry at 20 mins. Good idea but didn't work for me as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States