French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this, this morning. I added a few ingredients because I read the reviews and they said it was a bit bland. It was delicious!! My family and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Dry. Bland. My boyfriend ate one and then chose to eat 10-day old store-bought cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My family and friends loved these morsels! Yes they taste a bit like a snicker doodle, excellent! We loved the bit more dense more texture, not quite a biscuit. Followed the advice of other reviewers by brushing the tops of warm muffins with butter and sprinkling on cinnamon sugar. That worked great and tasted great too. We also added frozen blueberries to a batch. Obviously extending the baking time since they are frozen, but it was a delicious add. We backed them as mini muffins in the oven and in my daughter's Babycakes electric muffin maker. Loved the baby cakes outcome, it was a fatter muffin with a crispy top of the muffin as the top gets baked too when the top is in place. Would use Babycakes again. All in all, this recipe is a total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This has been a long time family favorite! My mom used to make them for us and now I make them for my children. The kids like to do the dipping, so it's fun for everyone!(I use powdered sugar and cinnamon instead of regular sugar to dip)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I liked these...ALOT! This is a very consistant recipe..I have made these twice and both times they turned out the same-DELICIOUS! I made these in regular muffin tins (I didn't have a mini muffin tin) and they filled 12 about half way. I used wheat flour instead of white, butter instead of shortening. I used Muscavado sugar (a whole form of sugar) instead of white and I added cinnamon. These were light and my husband and I both loved them. I had been jonesing for donuts and this is a cross between a sugar-cinnamon cake donut and coffee cake-Awesome recipe!!!Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I love these. they come out perfect and if you like doughnuts but don't want to spend the time these are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Pretty good. Add cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Made these for my 2 1/2-year old nephew. He approves, and so do the rest of us! The small amount of nutmeg gives them a different, but really good, sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These were delicious, like cinnamon-sugar donuts in muffin form! I did spice up the batter, I was worried it would be too bland - I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla, and for the nutmeg I used freshly grated nutmeg and didn't measure how much I put in, but it was probably about 1/2 tsp. I also subbed butter for the shortening. It smelled delicious coming out of the oven; I baked for 25 mins, which gave a nice all-around crust but left the inside with a nice crumb. Then I dipped the top in butter but rolled the whole muffin in the cinnamon/sugar mix; it stuck all over the muffin even without the butter. The topping amounts given are way too much for 12 regular size muffins; I would cut them in half (3 Tbs melted butter, 1/4 cup sugar, and 1 tsp cinnamon). It was very sweet, like a donut; best for when you're having people over so you don't eat them all yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States