French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
These were good, not Great but good. They would be pretty bland without the topping helping them along but did enjoy the bit of nutmeg in the muffin. I may make these again because they were simple but I will tweek the recipe a bit to try to make them Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Quick and easy like it says. A little crumbly and needed to cool off alot more before adding sugar and cinnamon. The kids enjoyed them for breakfast and will make again, perhaps I'll add one more egg to make it a little more dense. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I love this recipe. Very simple and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
These were a huge hit with my kids and my husband. They are not to sweet for breakfast and served with sliced fresh fruit on the side was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Great breakfast muffin! I used butter instead of shortening, and they were quite tasty. I especially liked the flavor the nutmeg added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Colorado, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
the editors must have fixed any errors in the recipe; it turned out perfectly. I did read the comments re. how great the tops are, and I came up with a solution: 1) I mixed the cinnamon sugar in a large plastic bag, 2) I left the puffs in the pan, 3) I brushed three at a time with melted butter, and then 4) I put those three in the bag with the cinnamon sugar & rolled them around to coat the whole puff. Repeat with the rest, three at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was a good recipe. There was nothing wring with it at all. It wasn't exactly amazing and exciting but it was tasty and easy to prepare. I used cinnamon instead of nut meg, and instead of putting it in muffin tins I just put it in a square dish. When it was done I served it was strawberry topping. It was really tasty like that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I love these muffins! I substituted butter for the shortening and they are still amazing. I also sprayed cooking spray on the bottom of 2 mini muffin tins and baked up 2 dozen mini muffins (reduced the baking time to about 10 minutes, or until done). They are just like mini donuts at the fair - minus the high-fat frying! I remember my mom baking these when I was a kid and this recipe brings back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is an excellent Betty Crocker recipe that I have been making since my daughter was born 41 years ago! NORTHWESTMOM said the directions were wrong, but she needs to read again. It specifically states to whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg, and THEN cream the sugar and shortening together. This is a no fail recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States