French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I thought these tasted pretty good. They would be even better as mini muffins. Tasted like baked cinnamon sugar donuts. I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to flour mixture. I added 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract to milk. I also used butter in place of shortening. They came out just like the picture. This recipe would be really good with small bits of cooked apples. Fun recipe for the kids to share at school. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
A family favorite.... our kiddoes call them puff balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Light, fluffy, sweet...pefect texture! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have the nutmeg so I just used cinnamon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My wife and I both enjoyed these muffins for breakfast this morning, they remind me of coffie cake in a muffin form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I liked the puff but not so much the grainy sugar on top of it. SO i was trying to figure out something i could do instead of the sugar and the hubby suggested a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My boyfriend loved it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
these are fantastic. they are light and fluffy and sweet but not too sweet. really great breakfast snack. I agree with the other people that you don't need that much butter for the topping unless you are coating the whole muffin and not just the top. I used about a tablespoon of butter and it coated 6 tops. (I halved the recipe because my fiance won't eat muffins) I have a coworker who doesn't like chocolate so for her birthday I might turn this into a cake like one reviewer said she did. I think that it would work out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
These were actually pretty good. A bit denser than I was hoping for. I made these for my bf only to find out that the only spice he had was pumpkin pie spice... Actually turned out really good in place of the nutmeg. Also used butter in place of shortening and 1 T less milk (again, bf didn't have any). There was way too much of the cinnamon/sugar/butter topping. I only used MAYBE half. A lot of waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Delicious! Kids wanted more cinnamon sugar though, so I put an extra plate of cinnamon sugar out and we dipped our muffins in. The end result- Magnifico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States