French Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe to a "t" when I made these and we weren't terribly impressed. They were dense and didn't have a lot of flavor. However, I heated one up later in the microwave and they were fabulous. Reminded us of a cake donut. I think I will make them ahead next time. They heat very nicely and were so much better reheated then straight out of the oven. I think it gave the cinnamon sugar topping time to "set." If you do make them and want to eat them fresh out of the oven, I recommend that you at least let them cool slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made pretty much as the recipe is written with one exception. Instead of waiting for the muffins to come out of the oven to top them, I just sprinkled the cinnamon sugar right on the uncooked muffin tops and then baked. They came out with a nice crunchy cinnamon crust, and I cut out quite a bit of butter and a lot of mess and fuss. Really nice, sweet, delicately spiced muffin. Note: those who are finding these too dense are probably over mixing them. The liquid ingredients should be stirred in with a spoon until the flour is all moistened, no longer. Never use an electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Not at all what the photo shows. Followed recipe exactly and if I make again will only make half dozen. Didn't fill cups even halfway and batter was thick. Didn't rise to full height of cups. No real flavor other than the cinnamon sugar. Had to drizzle butter over tops and sprinkle on the sugar. They are edible but I would only give 2 star for this recipe. Also have boatload of cinnamon sugar left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
They tasted like biscuits. No flavor at all. No one in my house ate them. I rather make biscuits and snicker doodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Taste is ok. Amount of melted butter for topping is excessive, probably only need 2-3 Tbsp. I would make this again with a totally different meal- dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Love these! Quick and easy and the kiddos love them. I just sprinkled the cinnamon sugar on top before I baked them to avoid adding more butter to the top, they were still so good. Definitely adding these to the breakfast rotation :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
excellent recipe like no other thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tanta, Al-Gharbiyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
French Breakfast Puffs! I have not had these in years because I lost the recipe. Thank you, these are such a great muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
These muffins were amazing!!! my dad even ate them and he doesn't like muffins. But i needed to add about half a cup of more milk to it to make a batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States