French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Henry8668
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greencook
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Really good . I used 5 1/4 cups flour and added, 1 tsp of sugar and a Tbsp of butter. My bread cooked in 20 min and I used a cup of water in pan in oven for moisture . Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
added a teaspoon of sugar due to reviews. It was amazing and dinner isnt even ready yet. Not sure it is going to make it that far. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Frawley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I didn't like it. It was bland and the crust is very hard. I followed the recipe, it wasn't over baked. I read the reviews and added extra salt but it was still very bland. I'd personally add at least double the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This would've got 5 stars except it needs more salt. Excellent crust. very adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadira Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Mason-Wilson
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I used 1 tablespoon salt, 1 tablespoon sugar , 2 packets of yeast and 2 tablespoons butter with the initial mix. I used 5+ cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gari Harmison
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Wonderful bread recipe. I made as instructed. I love everything about this recipe. Everyone loved the bread!And this was my first attempt at any bread. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gari Harmison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
OH MY GOD!! THIS RECIPE IS FANTABULOUS!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I used 5 teaspoons of yeast - 2 teaspoons salt - 4 1/2 cups of flour, oven proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja Kruitwagen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morganlacey
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I've made this recipe about 5 times now and this last time was the first time I've made a few changes. The original recipe is good but I've been baking a lot lately and have learned a few tricks. I added a touch more salt, 1 tbsp butter and most importantly I used gluten. If you substitute 1 tbsp per cup of AP flour you get a version of bread flour. This makes the bread nice and chewy. Bob's Red Mill makes a wonderful kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 839) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States