French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. it's nice and crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. this works so great for going with alot of different meals We like it for garlic bread thanks so much for sharing this is one we use and will continue to use.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except I cut in half and made only one loaf and I added the entire amount of salt despite halving the recipe. I thought my dough was too dry and it didn't become as smooth and elastic as I thought it should have. I was a little worried. The end result was really good though, nice flavor and a crunchy exterior without a bread stone or spritzing with water. Next time I won't roll out the dough into a large rectangle and jelly roll it into a loaf. My loaf stayed jelly rolled on the inside, it didn't become a proper loaf. I recommend you roll and stretch the dough ball into shape by hand on the board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobe Dog

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe! Did take the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 tsp. more of salt. And, also added two TB melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this bread last night and it looked wonderful! Though I was a bit worried because it was super hard on the outside. I was preparing for it to be a lost due to it being a brick, but once we cut into the hard crust it had a soft inside. As for taste it didn't have much. :( It was very bland. Perhaps more salt in the recipe? Not sure if I will be making this bread again. If I do I will take a couple of reviewers suggestions, including putting a tablespoon of salt instead of the 1 1/2 teaspoons. Going to give recipe 3 stars because taste is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Tried it according to the original recipe and it came out very dense and bland as others stated. The second time, I ended up reducing the amount of flour, adding a little bit more salt and a TBS of butter. It came out a million times better. I brushed on melted butter as soon as they came out of the oven and it was a big hit at the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I think the method is great, and produces a great loaf if you allow the yeast to proof first with the warm water and a teaspoon or two of sugar. I also add just a touch of olive oil or melted butter, seems to make dough more "workable" when rolling out. Make sure you have good yeast, and make sure to allow for full rising time, this is how you ensure you do not get a "dense" loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great with French dip sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States