French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JayneM
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I bake bread every weekend because two family members have food allergies. I frequently try different recipes and happened upon this one. I'm so happy to finally have a great French bread recipe! This bread turned out beautifully with a crisp crust and soft chewy center. It's delicious. My kids asked me to make it again this weekend. I did make a couple changes: I proofed my yeast with about 2tsps of sugar for 10 minutes before adding any flour and added about 1/2 tsp more salt. This is definitely my go-to recipe for French bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayneM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kirsten Mia
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a nice easy recipe. Our bread came out nice, I made it specifically to make bread pudding and it turned out wonderful for that. We made french toast out of the second loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This bread was delicious. Great texture--chewy crust, soft center. Only 4 stars because I edited the recipe. Started with bread flour, not all purpose. Increased salt to 2 tsp, added about a tablespoon of olive oil, and decreased flour to scant 5 cups. After baking, rushed with olive oil. If I weren't using for sandwiches, I'd skip the final step, but I wanted a slightly softer chew. Not dense at all (thanks to ample kneading and reducing to 5 cups of flour) and made very fine bahn mi sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Why buy french bread? This tasted great and wasn't too challenging to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Lynn Eagleburger
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe! Very easy to make and resulted in a nice soft crumb and crunchy crust. The only change I made was to sub one cup of flour for whole meal and added a tbs of sugar. I could hardly wait until it came out of the oven to tear in. I would certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Lynn Eagleburger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was very good and had a very crisp crust and soft inside! I took the advice of another commenter and used almost twice the amount of salt and a teaspoon of butter. I also used flour instead of cornmeal on the baking sheet, which didn't seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Rozmus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Really easy to make and was wonderful. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Excellent, doubled the salt as suggested and added a tablespoon of sugar and it was perfect. Thank You!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This came out great! My family has been to France so, they know what bakery fresh French bread tastes like, and they loved it! It's not a difficult recipe, but does take more time than listed. I need to get a little better at forming the loaf. Make sure you cover all the bread with the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Oney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was good for my first try at breadmaking, but a bit sour and slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States