French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very yummy and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have made this recipe seven times now. These rolls get better every time. Not only do they taste good, they look beautiful. I roll the individual rolls as demonstrated several times on line by chefs. I am getting better at that too. Be sure to let them rise well for both rises. I set my oven to 200 and then turn it off and stick my bread or rolls in to rise. If you roll these into 12 rolls, they will fit perfectly in an 8 x 13 baking dish. They end up as beautiful pull apart rolls. By making only a dozen, you get nice large rolls that are great for sandwiches. I make them in my kitchenaid and let it do all the work of mixing and kneading. Thanks so much for the recipe JoCatlin. I can't imagine a better dinner roll recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My second time making this...this time I kept it in a loaf instead of the rolls. Perfect to say the least, my 6 years old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I was looking for something more than your traditional dinner roll and I found it. This bread is best fresh when the inside is still soft and the outside is hard and chewy. I will say though, think about what the instructions are saying before following them. I followed the instructions to a T and after putting a damp cloth over the formed rolls all that happened is they all stuck to the cloth and I had to reform all of the rolls. Still kicking myself for doing that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I have made these rolls at least 50 times now and they are fabulous. Only amendment I have made is reduced the sugar to 1 tablespoon as 2 is too sweet for French bread. In summer when it is very dry and low humidity I need to increase the water slightly as all of our ingredients dry out. Having been a regular buyer of French bread in France I would say this is very close to the texture and the inside is so soft and fluffy. Freezes very well and keeps in plastic bag for 24-36 hours which is better than shop bought French bread. Great recipe. Cook for 15 mins in fan oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These buns are terrific and the recipe is great the way it is! The only reason it didnt get 5 stars from me is I find they go stale very quickly (2 days maximum). I have made them a couple times now and will continue to make them fresh when I want them. They are great for pulled pork sandwiches...just the right amount of chew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Just finished eating one of these fresh out of the oven...yummy! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Wow...can't believe how easy this recipe is and they were so good! I followed the instructions of other reviews who, like me, don't have a bread machine. This will be a standard recipe on our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
SUPER! I make the dough on Sunday's, divide and bake on need. My family and friends love the smell of our home. I'm a hacker cook, so they are supremely impressed, and I'm equally happy to oblige. This is a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
DELICOUS!!! I made sixteen and not one survived the night. Add 3 3/4 cups flour not 4. spread corn meal in a slighty greased pan, just before baking, brush with egg whites, push a small cube of butter into the tops, season with salt, garlic/onion powder, dried chives, seasme seeds & a bit o shredded cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States