French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
not for bread machine users! I checked the dough on the off chance and though id followed the recipe correctly, all there was, was a very sticky mess! a lot of flour, and a bigger mess later, I managed to salvage some dough and make some rolls, which were ok, but definitely not worth all the effort :( this wasn't my first time, I make French bread dough and oven bake it regularly, as rols or in a 2lb loaf tin....I wont be trying this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irish kim
Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
TThis rises WAY too much for a machine. Then, if you can get it out, forget ever getting it off of the counter, your hands, anything that touches it. IT WILL NEVER LET YOU GO. I have never, NEVER, worked with such a ridiculously sticky dough. It probably needed twice as much flour for that to work (and yes, I added quite a bit more, but it never was enough). I literally had dough gloves by the time I gave up. STAY AWAY BREAD MACHINE DOUGH users. Now since I only have experience with this on the supposed fact that it can be used in the dough setting on the bread machine, I have no idea how it works with a stand mixer as in the video and a more hands on customized approach. But under no circumstances is it a "dump and let it go" recipe for the bread machine's dough setting. Given the reviews it's probably great. I'll never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was a very good recipe! Mine turned out a little less crispy on the outside than I would have hoped for but I believe it was because of an error on my part. I will definitely try to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very good, very easy. A nice, basic dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I got a kitchen-aid mixer for Christmas, and these were the first yeast rolls I ever made. Easy and fun to make, and the dough was very forgiving. Before baking, I brushed them with melted butter and sprinkled with garlic powder and parmesan cheese. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made these rolls in my Zojirushi bread maker -!they were excellent, and I loved the chewy crust. I had no issues with the cook time or temp - I made 12 rolls and cooked them on a silicon mat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Easy to make, light crust, moist inside but very bland maybe needs more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Okay. Oh my gosh! Despite my mad bread making skillz, I always buy those brown and serve rolls for holiday meals because I have never found anything as soft and fluffy. These are amazing, I don't ever need to buy those again! So very easy. I didn't egg wash, but brushed with melted butter immediately upon pulling out. I also used an olive/grapeseed/canola oil mix and after placing them (15 instead) in a 6x9 casserole dish, I coated the tops with olive oil for the second rise instead of covering with a damp towel. I've also baked them in an oven-safe pan that was coated with bacon grease, nice crispy fried bottom. So awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
The rolls were OK. Did not do anything different. Wanted to try as is. I do a lot of home baking. Wanted to see if these would be really good. Not much flavor. Will not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent. I try to make bread often, and this was the best yet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States