French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe is to die for! I did make one change by mistake - I added a tablespoon of baking powder to the first 2 cups of flour simply because I started to make a different recipe but found I didn't have all the needed ingredients. Other than that I made this exactly as written and these rolls were the lightest, fluffiest dinner rolls I've ever made. Excellent recipe and one that will be part of my weekly baking routine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Addictive! These were so easy and really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I did not have Bread Flour so I had to use about 1/2 cup extra of White Flour (didn't have unbleached flour on hand either). Just eyeball it and you'll know when you added enough. They have a bland taste, which I expected since the dough itself was bland, but adding taste via a good spread made these great! I preferred marscapone over butter but the family devoured the honey butter. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made exactly as directed, but using a bread machine dough cycle for the first part. My machine states to add all liquids, then to add solids. I add the yeast to the liquid as the first solid, then the flour, etc., then the salt as the last solid, in order to encourage the yeast action. After the dough cycle completed, I put the dough in a greased bowl, following the directions from that step onward. The result was rolls that were crisp on the outside but soft and chewy on the inside. In our household we use these for a nice side with soup, for sandwiches, and as cheese toast. Everyone that tastes them agrees that the recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Came out perfectly. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bo
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This was great. I baked them at 400 degrees with a pan of hot water in the bottom of the oven for around 20 minutes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I can't tell you how many times I've made these wonderful rolls, but what I can tell you is how amazing they are. Such a huge hit and you can play with the recipe a little. I sometimes add olive oil in place of vegetable oil and bake it in a loaf on stoneware. Stoneware makes for the best results. Then I'll make little crustinies out of it! Hope you enjoy as much as my husband and I do :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great recipe! I will definitely make this again! But as usual I can't keep from adding or changing something in a recipe. I made a 1/2 recipe this time but next time I will make the full recipe and freeze 1/2 for pizza dough. 1. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. 2. I Grated one glove of fresh garlic into the dough and chopped 2-3 cloves of roasted garlic I had in the fridge(would have only the roasted but I didn't remember I had it until after mixing in the fresh), while mixing in my Kitchen Aide. It did all the kneading. 3. After forming the rolls I brushed them with more olive oil and sprinkled them with sea salt. Sorry friends of mine but my dough was not all that sticky to work with, I have no idea why. And oh yes, I use AP flour. Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe. The outside is crunchy, and the inside is so soft. This is the bread I will be making for every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These are so easy and taste wonderful. Next time will shape into ovals and use for sandwiches as someone else suggested. Good with honey butter on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Hoey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States