French Bread Rolls to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Awesome and easy - however, 400F was way too hot IMO. The butter I used to grease the baking sheets started to smoke and if I had left the buns in the time recommended, we'd have 16 burnt hockey pucks instead of delicious fresh buns...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
These rolls were so simple and so good that I am making them for the second day in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
My husband called these rolls addicting - especially after putting butter and honey on them warm out of the oven. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine. Shaped them into rolls, but did not brush with egg wash and they were fantastic. Reminded me of a good soft hamburger roll. I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Lochbuie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Wow! I've made bread many, many times before, but had never gotten around to making dinner rolls. I thought I'd shake things up today and whip some up, and this recipe seemed easy enough. What great results! I don't keep bread flour on hand, so I just used all-purpose, and I used olive oil rather than vegetable. They were light and fluffy, with a nice, chewy crust, and so easy to make. They look like they came from a bakery too! So smooth and keep a nice shape! I tried using whole wheat flour for a batch, but they were a bit dense and didn't rise as nicely or look as professional, so I'll probably find a different recipe for whole wheat. But for white this is definitely gold! Update: I made another 100% whole wheat batch with this recipe, but I added an additional 1/4 cup warm water to the yeast/sugar mixture to proof, and sifted 2 1/2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten with the flour. They rose quite nicely and are no longer dense. Still, it's obvious this was a recipe made for white flour, but with the extra liquid to moisten it and wheat gluten give it the extra oomph I'd say it's a decent way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were very good. I had to add a little extra flour, but that is to be expected with bread. I served these with honey to drizzle on them. Makes for a good breakfast side dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My sincerest apologies for this rating, but this bread was just. not. good. :( Now, I love to make bread, and make it as often as possible, so I'm no beginner at this. I followed the recipe to a "t," except I only put in 3 cups of flour, and I added parmesan cheese just to give it oomph. Unfortunately, no oomph, just blech. Again, my apologies jocatlin, but not up to my family's and my par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
first time making bread rolls and they were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Wow! This is the first time I have ever made homeade bread and it was awesome! I was really nervous but my husband loved it. He has been craving his grandmothers homeade bread. She passed away and he has been wanting to get the recipe from his mother. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I couldn't believe it came out so good. He loved it and said it was even better than his grandmothers! I was so proud. Even my very picky 2 year old ate a roll and said it was "awesome mama". I did put the balls into a cupcake pan and the rolls came out perfect! I also added a teaspoon more of salt. Will be making more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These were good, but too sweet for me. I don't think french bread is sweet and to me you could really taste the sugar. I made it exactly as called for so maybe just reducing the sugar would bump this up to a 5 star for me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
i followed the recipe pretty much exactly. The only difference is I didn't use all the flour. After adding the 2 cups of flour, I added the rest if the flour slowly until the dough held together. I then kneaded and added flour as needed. I baked some on a sheet pan and baked some on a baking stone. I preferred the stone baked rolls better. The bottom was a bit more crunchy. I used cornmeal for the pizza peel to move the rolls to the stone. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocooned

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 903) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States