French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Outstanding. Put a big smile on the wife's face!!! Used very precisely trimmed venison, salt n pepper flour sautéed in olive oil with fresh garlic cloves. Be careful to not over cook. Added small amount of bay leaf, thyme, red wine and oregano. Also added mushrooms. Forgive me but had to put a southern twist and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Wow! This is an amazing recipe! I used gluten free flour and browned the meat prior to placing all ingredients in the crockpot. Cooked for one hour on high, then six more on low. Meat was melt-in-your-mouth tender and sauce was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Followed it down to the mustard. My wife is allergic to Dijon so I added 1 tbsp of regular mustard and a shake or two of worcestershire. The meat was tender at the one hour mark for me so I did not run into the same problems with time as some of the other posters. Along with the stew I grilled up a couple of my rendition of Panera Fontina sandwiches and enjoyed a hearty meal on an uncharacteristic snowy night in southern Virginia. We both loved it and will be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this tonight because we here in Texas were experiencing another 'severe cold-weather storm,' so it seemed the best recipe for such shocking cold (to us Southerners). With a family of 7 to feed, I doubled the recipe and as it cooked I went about my routine of unwinding. When it was done, I told the husband and 5 teenagers to grab a bowl and I would be in shortly. HUGE mistake. When I made it to the kitchen, approximately 12 minutes later, my 20 year-old was on his second bowl and hubby was on the way to his. I had one bowl. ONE BOWL. It was superb, but not nearly enough for my disrespectful family; next time I will triple it. The only thing I did differently than what the recipe called for was add herbs de province. Delicious and warming and most definitely a keeper. Every one of the family members raved, which is a rare thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomsfoolery74
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole P.
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very simple, tasty recipe. I added slices mushrooms, large sliced sweet onion, and some fresh garlic cloves. After frying the beef, I deglazed the pan with red wine (cab sav). Also, I used fresh thyme. Easy to customize, I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I did toss the cubes of beef in a mix of flour, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Didn't put the veggies in yet and cooked for an hr. Then I added all the veggies plus onion and celery plus bay leaves. Cooked that for another hr and also added a corn starch slurry to thicken it. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very tasty. I was unsure about the Dijon mustard, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My kids helped me make this super-easy, super-delish stew and they're devouring it! I substituted a gluten-free all-purpose flour for this recipe. Tonight my tummy will be as satisfied as my taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I added cannelloni beans and used three TBS of dijion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States