French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
i would give it 5 stars but that's only because of the few changes that i made. i used beef broth instaid of water and doubled the spices and also added some fresh garlic. i cooked mine on low for 5-6 hrs and it was perfect, any longer and it would of burnt. good recipe. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I altered the recipe so it's difficult to rate the recipe as it's written. However, it's too basic to warrant a 5 star rating. I added a cup of cabernet sauvignon, several dashes of chipotle hot pepper sauce, 1 tsp of worchestershire sauce and 1/2 tsp of thyme. It gave the recipe a wonderful subtle kick. The leftovers are quite tasty as well. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe is great. Wonderful with a good french bread. I forgot the Tapioca and added flour and water at the end. It was no where near thick enough before I did that. I added leeks and a lot more basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
this was fantastic. didn't use tapioca. added a splash of wine and worcestershire. plugged it in overnight. turned it off the next morning. waited until dinner time for the flavors to meld...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My husband wasn't sure he would like this recipe because he hates vegetables. He ate two bowls last night and went on and on (and on) about how much he loved it! Great Recipe, I highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Easy, basic, mild, and light stew. Hubby described it as "just stew" but he rated it 5 stars. I think that means that although nothing really stuck out, everything blended well. Insteaed of the water I used beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I loved it! These were my changes 4 cups of water 2 cups of chicken broth. Organic beef cut up to bite size, Worcester sauce, crushed red pepper, minced garlic, and sea salt. Towards the last few hours I added the floor (at the end for thickening, but still was a little watery) but soaked up nicely w/ bread! Cant wait to taste the left overs tomorrow... It should be way better! The only change I will make next time is to saute the onions, and garlic, and cook the meat just a little (just to try and see if it gives it a little more flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Bland. What makes it French? Nothing-- I made it as directed and was very disappointed. With lamb instead of beef, and some nice wine, it could become more French. As is, it's too boring to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
We enjoyed this immensely. There are only two of us, so we had a couple days' leftovers, and they were great, too. I didn't change a thing, and we really liked this recipe. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Dont really know what makes it French vs regular beef stew but it was good. I followed the recipes as stated but when it was done the sauce was still very soupy so I ended up adding some flour shaken in water to it to make it more stew like. Everyone enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States