French Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I really liked this recipe and it was so easy. I increased the vegetables and seasonings to accommodate my family's size and used a can of tomato soup and a can of tomato sauce since I didn't have tomato juice. Since my two year old decided to turn off the crockpot some time during the day, we ended up having this for dinner the day after we were supposed to. I just put it back on the warm setting after refrigerating it all night and it was perfect. I will be putting this into the rotation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Love it! I use V8 for the tomato juice and throw in a beef bullion cube. I cannot imagine someone calling this bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Made this exactly as says and absolutely loved it. Even my young ones enjoyed it and they are picky eaters lol. Thanks for such a good recipe to put in my book. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
this was fantastic. didn't use tapioca. added a splash of wine and worcestershire. plugged it in overnight. turned it off the next morning. waited until dinner time for the flavors to meld...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This stew was not so great.... I even added fresh garlic, hot pepper sauce, and many other seasonings as suggested by other reviewers and it just wasn't that flavorful...It didn't taste bad, but it was pretty bland. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
sooo stinking good!! I even made fresh egg noodles to go with and a dollop of sour cream on top. Dee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I loved it! These were my changes 4 cups of water 2 cups of chicken broth. Organic beef cut up to bite size, Worcester sauce, crushed red pepper, minced garlic, and sea salt. Towards the last few hours I added the floor (at the end for thickening, but still was a little watery) but soaked up nicely w/ bread! Cant wait to taste the left overs tomorrow... It should be way better! The only change I will make next time is to saute the onions, and garlic, and cook the meat just a little (just to try and see if it gives it a little more flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
We enjoyed this immensely. There are only two of us, so we had a couple days' leftovers, and they were great, too. I didn't change a thing, and we really liked this recipe. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is a good crockpot stew. The only change I made was to substitute half of the water with red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Dont really know what makes it French vs regular beef stew but it was good. I followed the recipes as stated but when it was done the sauce was still very soupy so I ended up adding some flour shaken in water to it to make it more stew like. Everyone enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States