French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Beth Farley
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Seriously, it was DENSE. I even let it rise about 30 minutes longer on purpose. I made a loaf with wheat bread flour, and a loaf with white all-purpose flour (the latter turned out a lot better.) Sure, it looks pretty. It was easy. It tastes pretty great. I got the crusts crustier by putting the whole egg, not just the yolk. But the inside? NOT FLUFFY. Maybe I just don't know what REAL French bread is like, but in my mind, French bread should be fluffy! Not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Farley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Marie Hamilton
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
So this is my second time making homemade bread from scratch, but my first time making this recipe. I don't have a bread machine, so I did it by hand. I cut the recipe in half, but wish I hadn't. It was gone in about 10 minutes after it came out the oven! The dough was a little sticky, but I added some more flour until I could mold it without it sticking to my hands. After it rose, I shaped it and cut the slashes. There wasn't enough dough to make a really long baguette, nor did I have a very long cookie sheet. After it rose once more, I used the egg wash and put it in the oven on 325. My oven tends to get really hot, so I usually only do 300-350. I put butter on it and it was amazing! The flavor was awesome, even without the butter spread. I will be making this again in the future. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aimée
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I love this recipe I am by far a Novice when it comes to breads and dough. This is my 4th time in 6 weeks making this Baguette my only problem * please if somebody could help * is that every time I have made this it seems 1cup of water is not enough I have to keep adding more as my machine does the hard work. Is the 1 cup water accurate or is it just my climate messing with me? But other than that never change ANYTHING and this bread is absolutely FANTASTIC ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
delicious baguettes imake some change put water only on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Absolutely delicious! This is the only recipe I use, very easy and turns out perfect every single time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was very good! The bread went well with Quick Cranberry Butter and French Cheese Spread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Love it! Super easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for my first attempt to make homemade sub rolls rather than buy them at the store. Outstanding! My husband couldn't stop complimenting me about how good it was! It does make 3 decent sized sub style rolls. Will make this again for sure! And I don't own a bread machine so I did this all by hand; used other reviews suggestions by proofing my yeast and allowing dough to rise, then punched down, cut into 3 equal parts, slash and rise again then bake. This is my go to recipe now....I will never buy store bought sub rolls again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I love the simplicity of this recipe. I've found I need to add a touch more flour (I let my 3 year old help measure). We've also found we prefer using egg whites instead of egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,057) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States