French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was my first attempt at a tart and I cheated with a pre-bought pastry case from Sainsbury's which was very nice! The tart was easy to make and I substituted the brandy with vanilla vodka which complements the delicate flavours of the apples and almonds perfectly. This tart looks very impressive and also tastes lovely so I will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barry, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a beautiful addition to my Thanksgiving dinner, and was perfect for those who didn't care for pumpkin pie! It was time consuming, but turned out so nicely, I will definitely make it again. I thought it needed just a bit more almond flavor (was a little too buttery and bland for my taste), so next time I will add 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the frangipane. I thought the step about adding sugar during baking was kind of unnecessary because you later spread apricot jelly on it. My sugar wouldn't caramelize, and I didn't want to overbrown the crust; as a result, the sugar part turned out a little globby, so I think I will skip that step next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I was very excited to make this tart for a photo project my partner was working on. I chose it based on the reviews I had read here. I'm lucky it came out looking as good as it did ,because the flavor was just not there. I followed the recipe to the letter aside from cooking an additional 20 minutes. I wish the frangipane had more almond flavor and the crust was less greasy. Its a good start and with a few revisions I think it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have a solution to a lot of bakers who felt that the frangipane (almond filling) was not almondy enough. Toast the almond before grinding them. The flavors of the almonds will reveal themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRINEQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antibes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Made this for my daughters french class--and well, lets just say she got an A! This baby comes out beautiful and taste like a trip to Paris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I had a problem with this recipe. Let it be said I am not a good pie/tart baker to begin with though. I used premade pie crust, and splenda instad of sugar. Maybe that could have been why but after baking the tart it was VERY VERY greasy. I had to actually drain the tart while it was still warm, if I hadnt have done that it would have been ruined! After I drained the tart is was pretty good. Could use more flavor, maybe almond liquor or extract?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
It looked and tasted like a professionaly baked tart. I was quite impressed as were my guests. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This tart really looked nice with the apples spiraled together and the browned sugar on top. I didn't have any apple brandy so I omited that and added just a touch of apple juice instead. The almonds and the apples were delicious together, and the pastry was nice and flaky. I did have to bake this longer than suggested, probably about 15 to 20 minutes longer. My only complaint was that it seemed a little greasy. Other than that, a really tasty tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Loved this easy to prepare, show stopping gorgeous dessert. I did toast the almonds prior to grinding them in the frangipane. I also didn't happen to have any apple brandy on hand but I did have some Orgeat (almond syrup) to use instead. For the topping, I didn't have the apricot jam and instead used orange marmalade mixed with a couple of TBSP of the orgeat to brush on the top. Also used raw sugar to sprinkle on top instead of regular white sugar. This was a huge hit with everyone in my family and guests. Wonderful recipe and easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Turned out great...the second time! The conversion to Metric is slightly inaccurate, so had to do the pastry again, but it was worth it!! Will definitley make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States