French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This tart really looked nice with the apples spiraled together and the browned sugar on top. I didn't have any apple brandy so I omited that and added just a touch of apple juice instead. The almonds and the apples were delicious together, and the pastry was nice and flaky. I did have to bake this longer than suggested, probably about 15 to 20 minutes longer. My only complaint was that it seemed a little greasy. Other than that, a really tasty tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Very good -my first try at making a tart. However I did not have any apply brandy so I used whiskey instead. I don't think I used quite enough because it did not have much flavor. Also, my husband took it out of the oven and I forgot to do the sugar and apircots on top, but I still thought that it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was my first attempt at a tart and I cheated with a pre-bought pastry case from Sainsbury's which was very nice! The tart was easy to make and I substituted the brandy with vanilla vodka which complements the delicate flavours of the apples and almonds perfectly. This tart looks very impressive and also tastes lovely so I will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barry, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
It looked and tasted like a professionaly baked tart. I was quite impressed as were my guests. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I had a problem with this recipe. Let it be said I am not a good pie/tart baker to begin with though. I used premade pie crust, and splenda instad of sugar. Maybe that could have been why but after baking the tart it was VERY VERY greasy. I had to actually drain the tart while it was still warm, if I hadnt have done that it would have been ruined! After I drained the tart is was pretty good. Could use more flavor, maybe almond liquor or extract?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I was very excited to make this tart for a photo project my partner was working on. I chose it based on the reviews I had read here. I'm lucky it came out looking as good as it did ,because the flavor was just not there. I followed the recipe to the letter aside from cooking an additional 20 minutes. I wish the frangipane had more almond flavor and the crust was less greasy. Its a good start and with a few revisions I think it would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janis
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Fantastic! I'll definitely make this again. It was easy, elegant and tasty. Thank you, Wurzeltree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Fabulous! I added pears with the apples and liked it a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
this was amazing!! the best apple tart / pie i have ever eaten. the frangipane was subtle but i liked it that way so that it didn't overpower the apples. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States