French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I used frozen pie crust and apple juice instead of apple brandy and I received many compliments about the desert from co-workers and people at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have a solution to a lot of bakers who felt that the frangipane (almond filling) was not almondy enough. Toast the almond before grinding them. The flavors of the almonds will reveal themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRINEQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antibes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this recipe was told by a guest that it was "the best dessert" they had ever had. :) I did have to bake it longer though I did multiply the recipe about a dozen times. A little time consuming, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Davidsonville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wow - well worth the effort! I made this tart as directed and ended up with a stunning dessert that tasted as good as it looked. The recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
THANK YOU FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE! DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING IN THIS RECIPE. IT IS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. DO NOT USE ANY VANILLA OR ALMOND EXTRACTS - BUY A SMALL BOTTLE OF GOOD QUALITY APPLE BRANDY. I USED GOLDEN DELICIOUS APPLES AND COOKED 5 MINUTES LONGER. MY HUSBAND WANTS THIS EVERY WEEK NOW! THIS IS A VERY VERY SPECIAL TART - 5 STARS++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It's my first time making a tart and it turned out beautifully! We have a CSA with our local farmer's market and I really wanted to make a dessert with the beautiful mountain apples we got. I definitely recommend using different kinds of apples in the same pastry for added interest (I think I used three different kinds of apples!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made it for a family dinner and it was a big hit! I definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
great recipe--exactly what i was looking for! alterations included using a pillsbury pre-made crust (sorry), 2 large apples sliced thin, 3/4 c. ground almonds, only 1 egg, a 1 T. of vanilla vodka. i found that, in order to get a nice golden brown top, the baking time was closer to 40 minutes in my oven. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
To give this recipe the credit it deserves, it looked beautiful and the crust was amazing (I'll be using it again). I did not realize however, how sweet it would be (much too sweet!) Also, the almond flavor was very strong, so if you don't really like marzipan (like my husband), you probably won't like the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States