French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made it for a family dinner and it was a big hit! I definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
great recipe--exactly what i was looking for! alterations included using a pillsbury pre-made crust (sorry), 2 large apples sliced thin, 3/4 c. ground almonds, only 1 egg, a 1 T. of vanilla vodka. i found that, in order to get a nice golden brown top, the baking time was closer to 40 minutes in my oven. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
To give this recipe the credit it deserves, it looked beautiful and the crust was amazing (I'll be using it again). I did not realize however, how sweet it would be (much too sweet!) Also, the almond flavor was very strong, so if you don't really like marzipan (like my husband), you probably won't like the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Mon Dieu! I really felt like I was eating something from a little French patisserie (and trust me, I ate most of it myself!)! I baked this in an oven which, as it turned out, bakes at 20 degrees lower than it's set to. Despite that, I just kept it in longer, and while the sugar didn't carmelize and the apples were a bit stiff, it was still amaaaazing! The crust is precisely perfect in every way. I can't wait to bake it in an accurate oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fig Muffins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I thought the frangipane could have had more of an almond taste to it. Next time I think I'll add some almond extract to it. The sugar on top never carmelized, either. I ended up sprinkling on some brown sugar to add some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaMiaItalia
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is to DIE for, I do not have any more words to say!!!!! Thanks ** The second time it came out way better than the first time!! I did NOT use the baking sheet, I cooked it 15 minutes at 400 and then 30 minutes at 360. The first time it was not cooked all the way**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My friends and I made this tart for a french project. we couldn't use nuts so instead we put in imitation almond extract.I don't know what it is like with just almonds but it was AMAZING! it was so good tasting. we had to make three tarts and we discovered that make sure you cream together the butter and the sugar together before you add the egg in step 2 or else it turns out like liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The was fantastic...you put my bf's favorite things together...apple tart and galette...I think he was going to eat it all! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I served it nice and warm right out of the oven. Mmm... it was soo sweet and tasty. I did use about 2teaspoons of almond extract after reading the other reviews, i think it really enhanced the flavors. This was soo good I am making it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States