French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sara Kasprowicz
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I have to give this 4 stars since I had to do some tweaking with my on-hand ingredients and I had to bake it for an additional 15 min. Instead of almonds, I chopped up pecans and instead of apple brandy, I used 1 tsp butterscotch flavoring. That being said, it was fabulous and received rave reviews from my inlaws. I will def. make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kasprowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Loved this easy to prepare, show stopping gorgeous dessert. I did toast the almonds prior to grinding them in the frangipane. I also didn't happen to have any apple brandy on hand but I did have some Orgeat (almond syrup) to use instead. For the topping, I didn't have the apricot jam and instead used orange marmalade mixed with a couple of TBSP of the orgeat to brush on the top. Also used raw sugar to sprinkle on top instead of regular white sugar. This was a huge hit with everyone in my family and guests. Wonderful recipe and easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Everbody in my famly LOVED this tart. I thought it was pretty good but my tart didn't come out as brown as the one in the picture. Also, many people commented on this already, but it really was very very greasy. When I took it out of the oven to sprinkly sugar on it, the apples were drenched in the grease....I didn't do anything though and it came out fine after cooling for a bit. Overall, the recipe was easy to follow, the tarte normande looked beautiful, and impressed my family; I give this a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This tart wasn't bad, but it wasn't good enough to make again. I took reveiwers' advice and toasted the almonds before grinding them and added 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the frangipane. The result was not bland, but just not great. Thanks anways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was amazing! My extremely picky brother devoured two pieces, and I already had requests to make it for Thanksgiving! Used 1/4 tsp. almond extract in lieu of almonds (since I found out as I was baking that we were out of almonds!), and while it probably didn't taste as good as with the real almonds, but having never made this before, we all thought it was lovely! (And it definitely had an almond-y taste to it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
It's always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made this with apples just around the edge, and put fresh kiwi and gold and red raspberries in the center for my husband's 35th birthday. It was BEAutiful, and very much a labor of love. I made the crust IN my tart pan because I was struggling with the dough. That worked just fine and was very easy. Fred Meyer, here in the northwest, has bulk almond-butter, which I used. It was perfect. The apricot glaze really adds to the street appeal, so be sure to use it if you have a special occasion or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
this was awesome. this was a big HIT at all of my parties. people even said it was there favorate!!! I tried using different apple to see which ones were the best and found out that gala apples are the best thus far..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve S
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This recipe turned out awesome! It was my first time baking a pie and/or tart. People couldn't get over how pretty it looked and it tasted great. I cheated and bought store-bought crust.... Used the apple brandy... For my apricot glaze I put a teaspoon of rum and reduced it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I'm 15 and I wanted to bake something for my French class that looked splendid while tasting spectacular! Easy to make and a definite eye-pleaser, this is exactly what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States