French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Beautiful tart and rich with layers of flavor. However I found the recipe a little complicated for my test, but it was definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My first attempt to do a french apple tart. Actually first time i made a pastry! I ve followed the recipe by the letter and the result was WOW! We all loved it! Like the idea of the apricot jelly at the end. Served tart with a vanilla cream. Could not fault this recipe. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This recipe is divine. Its very close to that my french friend gave me. I usually use calvados in the almond pate'. So so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is wonderful! And have made it twice so far. Used Solo Almond Paste, then added vanilla, eggs and less sugar (paste is sweetened a bit). Would never know the difference. Slice the apples thinly (but not paper thin) for easier layering and presentation. Will use this recipe for a Pear Tart for a Chanukah dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I do not bake too often and I do not make pastry, but this was such a delight to make and not that time consuming. Just follow the "chill" pastry and chill the frangipane before adding to pastry; they are important. It turned out wonderfully with flaky crust and a wonderful apple filling. Everyone loved it; something different from a regular pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was spectacular. I also toasted the almonds for the frangipane, skipped the extra egg yolk, and used rum instead of apple brandy. I didn't have any apricot jelly for the glaze, so I just sprinkled some left over ground almonds. You couldn't see the beautiful apples, which was just as well, because mine weren't so pretty. I also baked it about 15 minutes longer than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is such a pretty tart and great for entertaining. I pretty much followed the recipe to a T and it turned out picture perfect. Great recipe if you're looking to impress a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Dafra Stephanie
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I really like making this dessert for my family and friends. a twist is to replace apple brandy with vanilla extract; i like both, but the vanilla smells so sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dafra Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I stole the show at a friends' birthday party with this one! Thank you for that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a classic recipe. I've been making these since before I came to the States (over 25 years). Among the comments about it are that it seems surprisingly "light" (no-one checked the calories!) and not over sweet. It tastes great and very nearly always looks impressive. Keep the frangipane though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States