French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this as one of many for a Thanksgiving crowd, and it was the hands-down favorite. We had to use a different pastry because we had to have it gluten-free, but we made everything else as close to the recipe as possible. We didn't have the tablespoon of apple brandy so we substituted a teaspoon of regular brandy plus two teaspoons of almond extract. The almond filling and apricot jelly glaze really "made" this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I've made it several times. The only thing I've changed is to use apple jelly rather than apricot preserves because my family finds it too sour. I've also added dried cranberries to the jelly and that is not only a beautiful presenttion but also& a nice flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I was tired of the usual apple pies and tarts and so I made this recipe instead. I had to cook it 15 minutes longer than what the recipe called for (maybe my oven is not as strong). I also added in 1-2 tablespoon of almond extract to bring out the almond flavor and left out the brandy since I didn't have it on hand. It tasted amazing, a very unique flavor that you can't find at a bakery. The tenderness of the apples, combined with the crispness of the pastry crust and the sweetness of the almond filling was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was my first time making a tart of any kind. (I wanted to try out my new tart pan!) It was absolutely delicious and tasted just like the tarts I had while visiting England recently. The only change I made was adding 1/4 teaspoon of Almond Extract to the frangipane as some of the other reviewers suggested. I will certainly be making this again and plan on baking it to take to Christmas parties this year. Not only does it taste lovely, but it's lovely to look at as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Beautiful tart and rich with layers of flavor. However I found the recipe a little complicated for my test, but it was definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My first attempt to do a french apple tart. Actually first time i made a pastry! I ve followed the recipe by the letter and the result was WOW! We all loved it! Like the idea of the apricot jelly at the end. Served tart with a vanilla cream. Could not fault this recipe. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This recipe is divine. Its very close to that my french friend gave me. I usually use calvados in the almond pate'. So so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is wonderful! And have made it twice so far. Used Solo Almond Paste, then added vanilla, eggs and less sugar (paste is sweetened a bit). Would never know the difference. Slice the apples thinly (but not paper thin) for easier layering and presentation. Will use this recipe for a Pear Tart for a Chanukah dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I do not bake too often and I do not make pastry, but this was such a delight to make and not that time consuming. Just follow the "chill" pastry and chill the frangipane before adding to pastry; they are important. It turned out wonderfully with flaky crust and a wonderful apple filling. Everyone loved it; something different from a regular pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was spectacular. I also toasted the almonds for the frangipane, skipped the extra egg yolk, and used rum instead of apple brandy. I didn't have any apricot jelly for the glaze, so I just sprinkled some left over ground almonds. You couldn't see the beautiful apples, which was just as well, because mine weren't so pretty. I also baked it about 15 minutes longer than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States