French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I give this recipe a five star! As soon as the tart entered the oven my house had the aroma of a bakery. A perfect dessert for a family get together or a nice fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made this recipe last night and it came out perfect! I did not have Apple Brandy and didn't replace it with anything although I did put 1/8tsp of pure almond extract which helped bring out the almond taste very nicely. Having read the other reviews I did chill the dough quite a bit and had no greasy issues. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoebam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I made this with gluten-free flour in the pastry and frangipane. The crust was not greasy, and turned out flaky and delicious--just slightly crumbly and a bit more difficult to roll than I am used to, but could've been because of the GF-flour. Per previous reviews, I toasted the almonds and substituted apple juice for brandy. I also used less sugar on top. I received lots of compliments on this tart; it is lightly sweet, has a nice presentation, and is overall very tasty. I did have to bake for longer, as other reviewers also stated. Another thing I would do next time is perhaps use an egg wash to make the crust a little more brown. Make sure that you keep the frangipane and the pastry cool before/while assembling the tart; otherwise, the butter could melt out while you're doing other things. I recommend slicing the apples first and keeping them in a bowl of water to prevent browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Tried this same recipe before, I altered it a bit. Used 1/4 c sugar instead Added a tsp of almond extract Used Crown instead of apple brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Booger
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I used a pastry dough I bought at Whole Foods and this was pretty easy. Tastes delicious, I may try less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alr2dc
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Tasty recipe! I used apple jelly with a little of the apple brandy for the glaze. I put some on before baking and again half way through. Other recommendations have noted that the crust is greasy. The way to avoid this is to BLIND BAKE THE CRUST! It keeps the frangipane from making the crust soggy, too. PS - it should be tarte AUX pommes not tarte de pommes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I didn't have brandy so I used amaretto. Everyone LOVED this recipe. Turned out beautiful and delicious. I have requests for two more of these this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I made this for a dinner party and received compliments from all. I didn't have apple brandy so substituted bourbon and 1/4 tsp. almond extract. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great recipe. Switched out the pommes for pears. I also had to increase baking time slightly. Melted some crabapple jelly for topping. Devoured by the family in 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I definitely love this recipe. Never had a complaint whenever I made it for parties/for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States