French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I didn't have brandy so I used amaretto. Everyone LOVED this recipe. Turned out beautiful and delicious. I have requests for two more of these this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I made this for a dinner party and received compliments from all. I didn't have apple brandy so substituted bourbon and 1/4 tsp. almond extract. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great recipe. Switched out the pommes for pears. I also had to increase baking time slightly. Melted some crabapple jelly for topping. Devoured by the family in 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I definitely love this recipe. Never had a complaint whenever I made it for parties/for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelly
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Excellent. My guests were thrilled and so was I. I didn't have apple brandy so I substituted bourbon and 1/4 tsp cinnamon extract. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've always loved the frangipane filling but had no idea what it was! For the crust I used silly rabbit's shortbread crust. Made the frangipane as stated except to replace the apple brandy with 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. I tossed the apple slices in some cinnamon sugar before arranging on top. Sprinkled sliced almonds on top of the apples and baked at 350 for about 35mins. Used apple jelly instead of apricot jam. Also made this with pears. Everyone (including me) was awed by the taste and presentation. Thank you for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike T.
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Some minor tweaks done to the original recipe, thanks to the previous reviews & f2 trials. I went easy on the butter as indeed following the original recipe the pastry got a bit drippy. For the seemingly muted almond flavor, I used the blanched/slivered almond instead of the toasted nuts. The identifiably almond essence, I would come to know, is actually from the raw nuts and is lost by toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Thank you for this amazing recipe! This is a true classic and hugely successful. I did how ever replace the alcohol with our local South African brands and result was delicious, maybe a little on the tipsy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Durban North, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Made this, this weekend for a French Film Night. Everyone agrees, definitely needs made again. Crust is VERY buttery and fine textured. I used Empire apples - they held their texture very well, and gave nice tangy flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
For those that noted that the tart turned out too greasy, its because the pastry crust was allowed to go to room temperature. As the recipe states, it needs to be chilled - otherwise the fats in the crust sweat a little, making it greasy. I actually let the pastry (in the pie tins) chill in the freezer while I prepare the apples and frangipane. As for the frangipane, I substituted the apple brandy with amaretto (Disorono to be specific). It gave it a much more almondy taste (which some reviewers commented was missing) with the special richness that only liquor can give =). Substituting with almond extract, I feel would not be as interesting (though I haven't tried it). As per other reviewers, toasting the almonds before combining in the frangipane is a must! Great recipe - turned out beautiful and was extremely impressive! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States