French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was amazing! My husband thought it was one of the best desserts he's ever had. I didn't have any brandy, so used 1 tsp of almond extract instead. The crust was unbelievably light, flaky and delicious. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lavalady
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very yummy tart. This my first time making a tart, and it turn out great. I didn't use brandy, I used 3/4 tsp of almond extract instead. I kinda over worked the dough, so it was slightly chewier then I think it was supposed to be. I also didn't have a tart/pie pan, so i used a spring form pan instead and crimped the sides. Served with vanilla ice cream and the flavors exploded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavalady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by TAMMERSANN
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This is a beautiful and tasty tart. I just used my own pie crust recipe, and like others used the almond extract because i didn't have the brandy. I sliced my apples very thin- turned out delicious and served with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Made this tart last night and what a huge success. My family loved it and they are already requesting it for Thanksgiving. It's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Yes, I cheated with a box mix for the crust (I have yet to master the art of a good crust), but otherwise this was an amazingly easy recipe to follow. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon Almond Extract for the Apple Brandy and added a dash of Nutmeg. My husband loves Apple pie and was a little upset I wasn't making one, but he was pleasantly surprised by this tart. He said it reminded him of a breakfast Bear Crawl with Apples. Excellent Recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinatShores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This tart was outstanding! I cheated and bought frozen piecrust to save time... but it came out delisious. I substituted 1 tsp of almond extract for the brandy. I think maybe I would use 3/4 tsp next time as it was a little strong... but for anyone who was saying this recipe was a little bland I recommend using almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made two of these for a co-worker's birthday. I did not want to purchase apple brandy, so I substituted 1 tsp. almond extract to enhance the almond flavor. Also, instead of apples on one, I used fresh halved cherries. Both were excellent. I did not put the apricot glaze on the cherry tart, but dusted it with powdered sugar instead, and served both with fresh whipped cream. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Turned out great...the second time! The conversion to Metric is slightly inaccurate, so had to do the pastry again, but it was worth it!! Will definitley make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this tart and it was excellent. The directions was easy to follow and the tart came out perfect. Not to sweet and a fantastic almond and apple aroma. However I found the part where you have to put the sugar on to caramalise not required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This tart made me look like a professional! I cheated and used store bought puff pastry, omitted the brandy altogether and added raspeberries as a garnish to add color. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dextersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States