French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was so easy to make for such an amazing dessert! Instead of brandy I used the same amount of Amaretto Liqueur, gave lots of almond flavor! I also used brown sugar instead and mixed in some tart apples for a really interesting flavor! I was surprised it came out so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Searching for something refreshing, pretty and delicious - this is it! I brought this to a dinner party everyone loved it. Garnish with raspberries makes to dress it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Made this for my daughters french class--and well, lets just say she got an A! This baby comes out beautiful and taste like a trip to Paris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is the first time I've found a recipe to equal the tart my late friend, Véro, used to make when we lived in Arcachon. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Pixie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanquhar, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was very good and I will definitely be making it again. Next time I'll add some almond extract to the frangipane because it really didn't have the almond flavor I was expecting. I was disappointed that the sugar on top of mine never carmelized for some reason. I ended up sprinkling it with brown sugar and letting that melt over the tart to give it some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was amazing! My husband thought it was one of the best desserts he's ever had. I didn't have any brandy, so used 1 tsp of almond extract instead. The crust was unbelievably light, flaky and delicious. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lavalady
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very yummy tart. This my first time making a tart, and it turn out great. I didn't use brandy, I used 3/4 tsp of almond extract instead. I kinda over worked the dough, so it was slightly chewier then I think it was supposed to be. I also didn't have a tart/pie pan, so i used a spring form pan instead and crimped the sides. Served with vanilla ice cream and the flavors exploded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavalady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by TAMMERSANN
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This is a beautiful and tasty tart. I just used my own pie crust recipe, and like others used the almond extract because i didn't have the brandy. I sliced my apples very thin- turned out delicious and served with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Made this tart last night and what a huge success. My family loved it and they are already requesting it for Thanksgiving. It's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Yes, I cheated with a box mix for the crust (I have yet to master the art of a good crust), but otherwise this was an amazingly easy recipe to follow. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon Almond Extract for the Apple Brandy and added a dash of Nutmeg. My husband loves Apple pie and was a little upset I wasn't making one, but he was pleasantly surprised by this tart. He said it reminded him of a breakfast Bear Crawl with Apples. Excellent Recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinatShores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States