French Apple Tart (Tarte de Pommes a la Normande) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Dafra Stephanie
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I really like making this dessert for my family and friends. a twist is to replace apple brandy with vanilla extract; i like both, but the vanilla smells so sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dafra Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I stole the show at a friends' birthday party with this one! Thank you for that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a classic recipe. I've been making these since before I came to the States (over 25 years). Among the comments about it are that it seems surprisingly "light" (no-one checked the calories!) and not over sweet. It tastes great and very nearly always looks impressive. Keep the frangipane though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
this recipe is amazing!!!! I made it once for a french class celebration and Bam ! I was hooked and so was everyone else. thanks a ton !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna silence
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious. To make it easier, I bought the frozen pie crust at Trader Joes, and I made the frangipane with Odense Almond Paste( in the baking aisle of most supermarket) and butter, I skipped the sugar since the paste is already sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I just made this apple tart today... the frangipane is so delicious! My boyfriend isn't a huge apple fan, so he put those on my plate... I could totally see using some other sort of fruit instead of the apples too, just not sure what yet. I also used 3/4 c. ground almonds and marsala wine instead of apple brandy. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CocoTeal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made it for dinner guests - they gave it big compliments. I left it in the oven an extra 20 minutes to brown the crust and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onfiya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Perfect recipe- less sugar than others I saw on the web; also the ingredient quantities were in cups not weight which made life much easier. I use spelt flour and expeller expressed canola oil for the crust- increased the flour to 2 cups. Just pressed it in and stuck it in the freezer while I prepared the frangipane. No need to chill, roll, chill... Came out yummy. I didn't even do the apricot glaze, because I was serving it to guests who have to watch their sugar. The drop of sugar sprinkled on top made it finished looking enough. I use a European oven with double turbo so I reduced the temperatures by 10 degrees Celsius- the cooking times were exactly right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Feinman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Delicious! I made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. They weren't just being polite, either. The pastry is so tastely. I ususally do not like pie crust, but this one almost tastes like a soft shortbread. It was yummy. It was incredibly easy and fun to make. I made some additions, however. 1. I toasted slivered almonds with some cinnamon, then ground it in a food preocesser. 2. I added two TBS of good French brandy to the final Frangipane mixture. MMMM 3. I soaked the apples in some brandy and sugar (I used small red sweet and sour apples from a coworker's tree) as I made everything else. ****I may add lcourser grounded toasted almonds to the pastry part next time. I recommend this tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarak
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I have to give this 4 stars since I had to do some tweaking with my on-hand ingredients and I had to bake it for an additional 15 min. Instead of almonds, I chopped up pecans and instead of apple brandy, I used 1 tsp butterscotch flavoring. That being said, it was fabulous and received rave reviews from my inlaws. I will def. make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States