French Apple Pie with Cream Cheese Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
THE ONLY ITEM I WOULD ADD IS A 1/2 CUP OF RAISINS WHICH WOULD REALLY MADE IT LIKE THE OLD FASHIONED FRENCH APPLE PIE.IT IS TRUELY DELICIOUS WHITH THE RAISINS AND I WOULD DEEPLY SUGGEST TO TRY IT THAT WAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I found this recipe as a newly wed and five years later I'm still making it. I do make one change. I more than double the apples called for and then bake it for 60 minutes. This makes it a bit less cake like, but still retains the flavor of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I must say this is a quick, easy and very yummy recipe. I made them into muffins and they were great. I then tried the tiny muffin tins for a bite-sized dessert for entertaining and they were a hit. If you use the small muffin tins, remember to dice the apples a bit smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This pie is more like a cake, but what a surprise to your guests when they cut into it! My pie was a huge hit, mainly with me because it was easy and great. One tip, the batter is really thick, so I washed my hands, took my ring off and mixed it with my hands without the apples. After it was well mixed, I then washed my hands, put my ring on so I wouldn't forget it and added the apples. Then mixed with a large spatula. By the way, I used the apple peeler corer slicer and it made the apples the perfect size. Don't you just love this site?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Not very good warm, but pretty good after it was in the fridge overnight. I think 45 min might be a little too long in the oven, because the edges are kind of tough compared to the rest of it, so if I make it agian, I'll try 35 or 40 min instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Running out of ideas to use up extra apples, I came across this recipe. So easy and yet so good! Changed it up a bit by using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar & replaced the walnuts with raisins. This is one recipe I will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Holly thank you so so much for this recipe. Not only is it very easy to make it is absoultly delicious. Wouldn't change a thing this recipe is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I first made this for a Teacher Appreciation Luncheon. I had to make copies of the receipe it was a hugh success!! Over the last few weeks I have made about 6 of these. My five year old loves to help with it. It only takes about 15-20 minuets to prepare it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This isn't a traditional American Apple pie. But it was delicious! A very rich moist yummy apple cake. And the cream cheese topping....couldn't have been any better! Thanks Holly for this French take on apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Very moist and tasty, I added raisins (about a 1/2 cup). It was very good with the cream cheese frosting, but for a variation will try leaving off the frosting and serving with whipped cream next time. Think it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States