Freezer Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very yummy! I cooked the onion, celery and carrot in a bit of olive oil until the onion was translucent before adding anything else. I did leave the sugar out; I just personally don't care for sweeter soups. I also cut back quite a bit on the pepper because we have a four year old who doesn't care very much for spiciness. I try to chop all my veggies into the same bite-sized pieces - including the potato that you add afterwards. For those who might not know (I sure didn't!) a quart of chopped fresh tomatoes is about 6 Roma-sized tomatoes. We used 1/2 a medium-large sized onion (1c), about 2 carrots (1c), and the celery I had prechopped/frozen b/c if I try to keep fresh on hand it just goes to waste in our house. Thanks for a dairy-free soup that tastes great - kind of a tricky thing to come by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Great recipe! I'm vegetarian and make this soup quite frequently. It has a nice sweetness to it that is well balanced by the dill. It can take almost any variation or extra ingredient and still be really good. I usually add a cube of veggie boullion to enhance the flavor and use corn instead of potatoes. I've also added browned sausage to this for my meat eating friends and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved it! I would add less pepper next time though. Very healthy and wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
So simple and so yummy! When tomatoes are in season, I buy baskets and make as many batches of this that I can fit in my freezer. I always peel and seed the tomatoes, which is the only fiddly part of this recipe. I usually add fresh yellow and green beans as well as zucchini to the base recipe, then add frozen peas and/or corn with the potato when I'm ready to serve it. Great with added cooked chicken too! Love love love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Always trying new soup recipes. Like the combination of vegetables but felt it needed something extra so added some hot pepper flakes and a handful of leeks. Always feel that leeks really add flavor. Thanks for a good base to add to. Freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This soup was just OK. Not much flavor. So, I've rated it on the exact recipe. However, I cooked up a pound of italian sausage and poured in a bag of frozen vegetables to the entire amount of the recipe and was perfect, 5 stars. The family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My mother loved this, and made a point to tell me how delicious it was. As a tip, for extra flavor, instead of using 2 cups of water, I used 2 cups of vegetable broth. Yum! UPDATE: I want to stress that you DO NOT need the broth to eat this soup. To keep the sodium out and make it healthier, I just made it with water the last few times, and loved it! Trust me, you're not missing out on anything by just using water, and you're saving yourself some serious salt content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was great. I used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, 1 sweet potato chopped small, 1 pound ground turkey sauteed with garlic/onion. I had to add about 2 cups of extra water in addition to the 2 cups suggested and cook it a little longer. I also cut down on half the salt since the can tomatoes has salt and it needed a little hot pepper for spice. After that is was excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is an awesome soup base! I made several changes (ie. used seasonings my family enjoys instead of dill, added more/different veggies), but was wonderful! My 5 picky children even ate it up! WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a great, tasty veggie soup! The dill made it special :) I'm heating up the second half of this right now and can't wait to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States