Freezer Persimmon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Fuzzy was a good way to describe this jam. I did let the persimmons ripen, and it is still fuzzy.The cream cheese did not help. Any ideas on how to save six jars of jam?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I only had a little over 2 c. of persimmon pulp, so I halved the other ingredients accordingly and this was excellent! As good as pumpkin butter which we love. GardeningJan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
a nice alternative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was quite good. I have enjoyed it along with cream cheese on whole wheat bread. (The cream cheese cuts some of the "fuzzy" flavor if you didn't have the patience to let your persimmons ripen completely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
There are wild persimmon trees growing in the forest all around my home. When I go jogging on the trails in the fall, I enjoy stopping to snack on a few. The trees right next to the lake always have the plumpest, juiciest fruit. There's such a surplus that I've wanted to make recipes with them for a while. I've made this recipe a few times now in half batches. The first time my jam turned tannic and puckery to the taste, fluffy in texture. The other times I made it, the results were wonderful! To deseed and remove the skins, I push the persimmons through a fine strainer. Instead of boiling for thirty minutes, I heat on medium low, stirring constantly. Right before the mixture starts boiling, just as the bottom begins to stick and thicken quickly (can't take more than ten minutes, though I didn't time it), I remove the jam from the heat and divide it among my canning jars. I think this yields wonderful results. Freezer jams don't even need to boil to stay fresh. The freezer does this for you. I'd take this jam undercooked over overcooked any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyCat3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeannieB
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I just finished putting up my batch, I snitched some and it was delicious! I had 6 cups of puree, left the sugar at 3 cups (a little shy actually), didn't have enough lemon juice from my lemon so used a lime and an orange to finish out the 1/4 cup juice. My persimmons were almost all good and ripe, but a few were very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have a persimmon tree, so I am well aware of how horrible (tannic) they can taste when not fully ripe, so I used extremely ripe persimmons, and made sure to remove the skins. Still, the end result tasted A) TOO sweet B) slightly fuzzy. I am wondering if it had to do with the type of persimmon I used - the type that needs to be extremely soft in order to eat, which are also extremely sweet naturally... maybe that's why this recipe didn't work out for me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Tasted great, I tast tested the persimmons first to make sure they were not fuzzy. It came out great and buttery sweet. I wonder if some people are leaving the skin on when they purée them, and that is why they say it tastes fuzzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I used this recipe and I'm sure it's a great one but nothing mentioned about having to have the persimmons super ripe. My jam came out tasting like the skin of a banana. Dried my mouth out and I don't know how to fix it so I'll have to dump down the drain. I was so craving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Yum! I can't wait to try them with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States