Freezer Persimmon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
There are different types of persimmons: fuyu, which can be eaten firm and look like a tomato; hachiya, which is not edible until fully ripen and naturally crack, and looks like a giant acorn. This recipe should work well for the fuyu type. I followed a recipe that has almost the same ingredients, with added pectin and I canned them in a water bath. They came out a delicious jam, a bit tasting like pumpkin butter. I never tried making jam out of the hachiya type. They are too sweet to be processed - I feel any processing is a waste of this fruit. The trouble with hachiya is they are quite unpleasant if not fully ripen. However here is a trick: freeze hachiya persimmons that are not fully ripe. Te freezing process destroy the tannin and they can be eaten as is when thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Loved how easy it was to make and it turned out Delicious! didn't have nutmeg so I substituted with cinnamon. Cant wait to make another batch with nutmeg. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Ayad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Two suggestions: 1) Do NOT place hot jars or ANY glass jars in the freezer. They WILL break! 2) For problems with astringency ("fuzziness", try this trick from a United States Department of Agriculture Farmer’s Bulletin of 1915: “Since heat makes the astringency of the persimmon more apparent, it is always well to add one-half teaspoonful of baking soda (bicarbonate of soda) to each cupful of persimmon pulp in all recipes where the fruit is subjected to heat. Although it has been proved by experiment that the soda may be omitted if the fruit is entirely free from astringency, it is better to use it until one is sure of the quality of the persimmon pulp.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Homemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used wild persimmons from northeastern Oklahoma- I don't know what variety. The jelly never jellied, so I gave it a few more minutes on medium heat to see if it would thicken and it never did. The jelly had a sweet, apple-like flavor and then an awful, fuzzy taste. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
There are wild persimmon trees growing in the forest all around my home. When I go jogging on the trails in the fall, I enjoy stopping to snack on a few. The trees right next to the lake always have the plumpest, juiciest fruit. There's such a surplus that I've wanted to make recipes with them for a while. I've made this recipe a few times now in half batches. The first time my jam turned tannic and puckery to the taste, fluffy in texture. The other times I made it, the results were wonderful! To deseed and remove the skins, I push the persimmons through a fine strainer. Instead of boiling for thirty minutes, I heat on medium low, stirring constantly. Right before the mixture starts boiling, just as the bottom begins to stick and thicken quickly (can't take more than ten minutes, though I didn't time it), I remove the jam from the heat and divide it among my canning jars. I think this yields wonderful results. Freezer jams don't even need to boil to stay fresh. The freezer does this for you. I'd take this jam undercooked over overcooked any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyCat3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have a persimmon tree, so I am well aware of how horrible (tannic) they can taste when not fully ripe, so I used extremely ripe persimmons, and made sure to remove the skins. Still, the end result tasted A) TOO sweet B) slightly fuzzy. I am wondering if it had to do with the type of persimmon I used - the type that needs to be extremely soft in order to eat, which are also extremely sweet naturally... maybe that's why this recipe didn't work out for me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Tasted great, I tast tested the persimmons first to make sure they were not fuzzy. It came out great and buttery sweet. I wonder if some people are leaving the skin on when they purée them, and that is why they say it tastes fuzzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by JeannieB
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I just finished putting up my batch, I snitched some and it was delicious! I had 6 cups of puree, left the sugar at 3 cups (a little shy actually), didn't have enough lemon juice from my lemon so used a lime and an orange to finish out the 1/4 cup juice. My persimmons were almost all good and ripe, but a few were very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeannieB
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I used this recipe and I'm sure it's a great one but nothing mentioned about having to have the persimmons super ripe. My jam came out tasting like the skin of a banana. Dried my mouth out and I don't know how to fix it so I'll have to dump down the drain. I was so craving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Yum! I can't wait to try them with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States