Freezer Peach Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I didn't exactly make this into a pie. I had an overabundance of sweet peaches and since I made pancakes this morning, I didn't have any honey or syrup to put on them so decided to make this. Since the peaches I had were very sweet, I only used 1/2 cup sugar and 1:1 white/brown. I also added a dash of cinnamon and cooked it up on the stove. It set up nicely and tasted delish on whole wheat pancakes. Thanks for the nice addition to my breakfast! I love the concept of this recipe. Great for on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
works just great and easy to prepare. keeps well in freezer. try using more than just peaches. i used apples too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This is exactly what I was looking for. You probably want to use more than 2 1/2 cups of fruit, if you are going to have a 9 inch pie. I'd say 4 cups, at least, as they cook down. The only things I did differently are that I added about 1-2 tsp Cinnamon AND did a pre-treat on my peaches with Ever Fresh (or Fruit Fresh). Just added about 3 tablespoons to a large basin of water (large enough for 15-20 pounds of peaches). I also added 1 tsp. Ever Fresh per cup of sugar (I use a lot of estimating in my kitchen) in this recipe. I was working on a much larger scale than this recipe called for. My plan is for using this 'filling' for much more than just pie. I don't want to have to freeze this in a pie plate, so I don't want the fruit to brown when I thaw it. Will be using it for fruit topping on pancakes, cobbler, pie, and anything else I can think of. Very versatile recipe! Thanks! SIDENOTE: I did bake up one pie. It's nice. Wished I would have had a top crust and used a smaller pie plate. You live and learn. UPDATE: I used this recipe to make Peach cobbler while camping. I used the Peach cobbler VI recipe. I received RAVES from the camping buddies. Used in place of the peaches & spices in the other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is great! Don't know why I didn't think of this. All fruit fillings are great like this. Thanks for this idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAKMAN57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashmore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
It is genius. I love the concept. I do wish that I had made (as another reviewer wrote) more peaches in a 9-inch pie because it is not enough. Next time, I will add 4 c. of fruit. I also think when I do bake it, I will add a top. As a reviewer mentioned--try it with apples and I have a bag of apples waiting so I think I will. Thank you. Love the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Having a peach treee, this recipe works great to freeze for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
What a fantastic idea...I used 4 cups peaches for the 9" pie pan and added a crumb topping when I baked the pie. I also added 1 tsp. Fruit Fresh right to the sugar mixture, and the peaches didn't brown at all. My family raved about this, so I will be making a few more to have in the freezer for this winter. I will also try this with apples. Thnaks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I can't wait to do this with all my apples! How easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
We prepared exactly as the recipe said, and it was a perfect peach pie! The filling had just the right consistency, and when prepared with a ready made, refrigerated crust, it's the easiest homemade dessert! I'm about to make a second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy for 7!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA
Photo by Susan 'Bland' Mitchell
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
AWSOME AWSOME AWSOME PIE:) I wouldnt be cooking if I didnt alter it at ALL though-i just cant leave well enough alone lol. SO as previously suggested up the peaches to 4 cups, toss in lemon juice to prevent browning-no need to buy fresh fruit preserver. I also threw in a dash of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla(I know-such exact amounts)and 1/2 tbs more of cornstarch and tapioca just because I uped the amount of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States