Freezer Peach Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This is exactly what I was looking for. You probably want to use more than 2 1/2 cups of fruit, if you are going to have a 9 inch pie. I'd say 4 cups, at least, as they cook down. The only things I did differently are that I added about 1-2 tsp Cinnamon AND did a pre-treat on my peaches with Ever Fresh (or Fruit Fresh). Just added about 3 tablespoons to a large basin of water (large enough for 15-20 pounds of peaches). I also added 1 tsp. Ever Fresh per cup of sugar (I use a lot of estimating in my kitchen) in this recipe. I was working on a much larger scale than this recipe called for. My plan is for using this 'filling' for much more than just pie. I don't want to have to freeze this in a pie plate, so I don't want the fruit to brown when I thaw it. Will be using it for fruit topping on pancakes, cobbler, pie, and anything else I can think of. Very versatile recipe! Thanks! SIDENOTE: I did bake up one pie. It's nice. Wished I would have had a top crust and used a smaller pie plate. You live and learn. UPDATE: I used this recipe to make Peach cobbler while camping. I used the Peach cobbler VI recipe. I received RAVES from the camping buddies. Used in place of the peaches & spices in the other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan 'Bland' Mitchell
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
AWSOME AWSOME AWSOME PIE:) I wouldnt be cooking if I didnt alter it at ALL though-i just cant leave well enough alone lol. SO as previously suggested up the peaches to 4 cups, toss in lemon juice to prevent browning-no need to buy fresh fruit preserver. I also threw in a dash of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla(I know-such exact amounts)and 1/2 tbs more of cornstarch and tapioca just because I uped the amount of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I didn't exactly make this into a pie. I had an overabundance of sweet peaches and since I made pancakes this morning, I didn't have any honey or syrup to put on them so decided to make this. Since the peaches I had were very sweet, I only used 1/2 cup sugar and 1:1 white/brown. I also added a dash of cinnamon and cooked it up on the stove. It set up nicely and tasted delish on whole wheat pancakes. Thanks for the nice addition to my breakfast! I love the concept of this recipe. Great for on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
works just great and easy to prepare. keeps well in freezer. try using more than just peaches. i used apples too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Awesome simple recipe. I froze the filling maybe a month ago and baked a pie with little to no fuss today. One suggestion though... the pie crust I usually use is a pate brisee and it has some sugar in it, so... the extra baking time required to thaw and heat the filling made the edges of my crust VERY brown by the 20 minute mark. I covered them with foil to finish baking, but I would have done better to have covered them from the beginning. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
It is genius. I love the concept. I do wish that I had made (as another reviewer wrote) more peaches in a 9-inch pie because it is not enough. Next time, I will add 4 c. of fruit. I also think when I do bake it, I will add a top. As a reviewer mentioned--try it with apples and I have a bag of apples waiting so I think I will. Thank you. Love the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
What a fantastic idea...I used 4 cups peaches for the 9" pie pan and added a crumb topping when I baked the pie. I also added 1 tsp. Fruit Fresh right to the sugar mixture, and the peaches didn't brown at all. My family raved about this, so I will be making a few more to have in the freezer for this winter. I will also try this with apples. Thnaks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Good. basic peach pie filling. You will need to use about twice the filling recommended to fill a 9" pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I searched through the site looking for a recipe for peach pie. I had looked at the cans of peach pie filing at the store and balked at $3.00 a can, and two were needed (and they are heavy on the syrupy filling and light on pieces of fruit.) I bought canned peaches in light syrup and drained them to make this recipe. It is perfect - lots of peaches in the pie with the right seasonings and thickeners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Having a peach treee, this recipe works great to freeze for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States