Freezer Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
GREAT for freezing! It really is. We celebrate 1/2 birthday's as well as birthdays in our family, so we're always making a cake and freezing "1/2" for the next "1/2" birthday. This year we tried a new thing to make the frosting and frost them WITH the cake and this frosting still held it's yummy flavor and color after being frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenners
Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used this frosting for my daughter's birthday cake and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Very easy, very sweet, easy to color, easy to spread, kid tested & approved! This recipe tastes similar to some commercially produced frosting, but so simple to make at home why buy the store stuff? I used this on a mocha/chocolate cake and it didn't compliment as well as I'd hoped - I think it would taste much better on a not-so-rich cake. Would be perfect on cupcakes or cookies too. Refrigerates very well, haven't tried freezing it yet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I am NEVER buying frosting again - EVER! I loved the original vanilla frosting, but when it came time to jazz up some chocolate fudge cupcakes, I substituted Peppermint extract for the vanilla, and then mixed in some crushed peppermint starbrite candies. Instant hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Made no changes and this was perfect! Keeper in my house! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
As promised, stores very well in the freezer. It is, however, overly sweet. As such, I keep it strictly for decorating. It pipes smoothly and holds its shape well. For use as a full cake frosting, it's so sweet, it makes your teeth ache! We prefer Mom's Buttercream Frosting on this website, as it's not cloying, and reserving this for decorating. In that supporting role, it adds just the right amount of sweetness. That said, it's worth having in the freezer for decorating cakes. I've kept it up to 6 months with success, by thawing in the fridge and whipping up before I attempt to pipe it. Consistently comes back as good as new, and accepts color readily, making it a must-have for the cake decorator's bag of tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
It's incredibly sweet, just like it says and tasted a lot like store bought frosting. Except, it wasn't thick enough for me-- I like a really stiff frosting to frost and decorate cakes. I actually added just a little bit of flour and an additional cup of sugar and it was a much better consistency and just a little less sweet. I also think an almond flavoring would be good in this. If you're looking for a frosting that does NOT taste like the store, this isn't the one for you, if so, you found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Eliminate 1 1/2 cups of sugar, if you don't like it sooo sweet. It's a very and fluffy and light frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Super sweet, I am thinking the whipping cream should be whipped first & then added into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassiesmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States