Freeda's Fabulous Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Wasn't a fan of the steak marinade/lemon combo but I tried again and just eliminated the steak marinade and tossed in a few capers and it was delicious. Thanks for a good basic recipe that's easy to doctor to your own liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Cod was on sale but I didn't know how to prepare it (other than fried). This was very good. I decreased the cayenne to our taste and spooned drained diced tomatoes on top. Will serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Delicious. Admittingly, I had a hard time visualizing the combination of a "soy based" marinade and lemon. Instead, I used 50/50 A1 and worcestershire. It was wonderful. In retrospect, I have had many wonderful terriyaki (soy based) fish dishes, often with pineapple (citrus) so I will give it a shot with the lemon next time. I did prefer the added flavor from the stewed tomatoes to the plain. It's worth saying that since the recipe doesn't require a specific sauce and if you do alter it with stewed tomatoes - you may want to consider reducing or eliminating the addition of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I used Lawry's Signature Steakhouse Marinade, half the butter, and just over half the cayenne (ground, not flakes). This was really wonderful! Would have been too spicy as written, for us, and my husband loves spicy food. Used fresh garden tomatoes, just sprinking salt and pepper over them (not the suggested amounts, just to taste), and they are a great addition to the meal. My husband says it would be a great dish to make for company. First time he's ever said that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Used A-1 as the sauce and sprinkled Pikes place Market sea food seasoning on the fish. Killer. If you can't get this seasoning use garlic powder and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Love this recipe. My husband, who doesn't really care for fish, likes it too. We use coconut oil instead of butter. It's healthier and gives a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great flavor and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I was a bit perplexed when you asked for a soy-based steak marinade. I wasn't sure what that was. I used a recipe on here called Greatest Steak Marinade. Since that recipe used Franks Red Hot, I left out the cayenne. I also didn't see the need for salt since we are using a soy based marinade. I subbed just a bit of olive oil in the bottom of the pan for all of that butter. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I only cook Jan. and Feb. otherwise outside. This was fun to make and I was proud when I opened the oven door. I will back off on the cayenne a little next time. I will make it again but make more for a serving; the whole pound. Just do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dcookin
Living In: Oxford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I used olive oil instead of butter when making this. It was simple, tasty, and foolproof. I'll definitely make it again. I used about half of the cayenne and it was still a little too spicy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States