Frank's® Red Hot® Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was bad. I really like blue cheese, but this was too much. I agree with other reviews that you need to use other cheese. It changes the recipe so I am rating this because I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
We love hot but this was just too much heat. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of fresh chicken versus the canned stuff (we had some left over in the refrigerator). I will half the amount of hot sauce next time and then add slowly until we reach our desired heat level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
first time making a buffalo chicken dip....came out great! i used my own roasted chicken; lower fat cream cheese and home made smoked blue cheese dressing. i also added shredded cheddar instead of the mozzarella/blue cheese. my DH didn't want me to make it but i had everything on hand and forged on. he loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
UPDATE: ALTHOUGH YOU CAN REHEAT YOUR DIP (I HAD PLENTY OF LEFTOVERS!), KEEP IN MIND THAT IT WON'T BE *QUITE* THE SAME. OUR DIP WAS OK, BUT THE TEXTURE WIERDED US OUT A LITTLE LOL. :) FANTASTIC!!! What can I say???? Buffalo chicken ANYTHING is yummy, let alone a gooey-cheesy dip form of it. :) Needless to say, this did not disappoint in the least! Since the weather turned for the worse, my hubs and I decided to stay in to watch the XLVII Superbowl. Instead of our usual dinner, I decided to make a few munchies to nosh on during the game. This was one of two appetizers I prepared. I pretty much stayed true to the recipe, but did make a couple of changes in order to use up a few ingredients in my fridge / pantry. I used half mozzarella, half blue cheese and instead of blue cheese dressing, I subbed Ranch (to compensate for adding the blue cheese crumbles). I also upped the wing sauce by ~ 1/4 c. Perfecto! Chicken flavored crackers (Nabisco Chicken in a Biskit) and carrot / celery sticks were perfect "dunkers" for our dip. If anyone knows buffalo wings, it's got to be Frank's. :-) Enuf said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Love this recipe. The key is the blue cheese since it balances the hot sauce-don't skimp on it. We just throw everything in a bowl together and keep adding until it tastes right, but usually at least a full bottle of Franks, but being from Buffalo we like it hot! As for the excess oil... drain it halfway then at the end using some paper towels, you won't lose the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
we use Texas Pete's hotsauce and it tastes just as great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this for Christmas and was a huge hit! I make a few variations. I use 2 (8oz) pkgs cream cheese, 1/2 C ranch dressing, 1/2 C Franks redhot buffalo wing sauce, 1/2 C crumbled blue cheese, 2 cans swanson chicken. I heat all the ingredients together in a pan on the stove and mix it together. Then place in 9x13 dish and sprinkle on top a little bit of cheddar cheese and bake as stated on the recipe. We use scoops chips for dipping. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was so easy and turned out great. Next time I might add a bit more hot sauce to kick it up, but really... for the amount of time this took I couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
People always ask me for this recipe when I make it. Using the bleu cheese gives it a flavor depth that sets this recipe apart from other recipes, but it is not overpowering. Like others have mentioned, I do NOT use canned chicken. Buy some boneless/skinless chicken breasts, bring a pot of water to a boil, throw them in for about 20 minutes or so, then shred easily with two forks. We also sprinkle a little cheddar cheese on top prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've made this tons of times and it's always a hit. Instead of blue cheese dressing I use Ranch and instead of blue cheese or mozzarella cheese I use shredded cheddar. Small changes but I personally think it makes it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States