Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I admit that I was skeptical about the combination of salsa and peanut butter when I first read this recipe, but it was fantastic! My changes were very minor: I used a whole can of regular coconut milk, 1 T. of ginger paste (I didn't have any fresh ginger), brown sugar in place white, about 1 T. dried cilantro mixed with the rest of the sauce and just before serving added peas. We served this over white rice and it was so delicious! My boys (4 and 6) gave it two thumbs up :) Now that's what I like to hear at dinnertime. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My first review because it was so yummy and easy thanks to the crockpot. I added a little more sugar, some hot pepper flakes and basil but skipped the peanut/cilantro topping. Kept going back to the pot for more. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was wonderful! Due to my love (some might call it an obsession!) for cilantro, I chopped up a third of a bunch and threw that in with all the other ingredients, as well as using it as a garnish, along with crushed peanuts. I also used a whole can of reg coconut milk, upped the pb to 1/2c, and lowered the salsa to 1/2c. Served over jasmine rice, and it still had that great peanut-y taste. Perfect! Hubby couldn't stop raving, 2 and 4 yr olds gobbled it up right away-- will definitely be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
if you want real Thai food, this isn't it. BUT it's a wonderfully easy weeknight meal that is full of Thai flavors. It felt weird to be mixing salsa and peanut butter together, but it was great. In the end we topped it with sauted onions and garlic and I think that would have been great cooked in the sauce. Also, I do not usually cook with much salt, but I did find that a light sprinkle on the plate made the flavors pop! The man said 5 stars, which makes us both happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious and easy. Made only a few changes, creamy pb and whole coconut milk. A little spicy but even the 4 year old didn't mention it was too hot. Thanks Frank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have been on here for years and have yet to leave a rate. This recipe really deserved it. 5 stars from a very critical cook. I made a few adjustments based solely on my own personal taste, but this was 5 stars before I ever got near it. My tweaks were substituting 2 tablespoons of siracha for the 3/4 cup salsa, using creamy peanut butter, using a full can of full fat coconut milk, 3 tablespoons of soy, & leaving out the sugar. again these were tweaks to adjust to my own taste. I served a bed of fresh spinach, topped with bean sprouts, topped with Jasmine rice, then the chicken, then the sauce . . . AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I just got home form work, and it was so nice o come home to an already made dinner. Usually I find slow cooker meals bland. Not this one! I substituted a can full fat coconut milk. It's rich and creamy and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! The only changes I made was adding a bit more peanut butter and using more coconut milk - as stated by a couple of reviewers. Oh yeah, I did use chicken legs and breasts because that is what I had on hand. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Incredibly easy and delicious. I didn't change a thing. My husband and kids loved it. It did cook much quicker than the recipe said. Mine was done in 3 1/2 hours on low. Definitely going in the favorites file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
followed the recipe but made it on high because I didnt have enough time for low! Turned out great! I had to add some extra coconut milk at the end to get it saucy again. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States