Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was delicious! The only changes (and they were minor) I made were to use boneless chicken thighs, mild salsa and creamy peanut butter since that's what I had on hand. I was skeptical of the seemingly odd combo of flavors -- salsa, peanut butter, lime juice, etc -- but the result was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I cooked this on the stove top. I used Siracha and creamy peanut butter, with chopped peanuts as a garnish, and actually used milk instead of coconut milk (I had run out oops!). I did add some chicken broth and some really good fish oil. Seemed to be missing something and I'm not convinced it was the missing coconut milk. Will keep this recipe but will need to play around with it to get it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I tried this recipe the other night to try out my new slow cooker. The chicken turned out very n tender which was great but the flavour of the rest of the ingredients was a little bitter. I thought about it and I think it was because I use only natural peanut butter (no salt, sugar) which has a naturally sort of bitter taste as opposed to say, Skippy. Because of this it wasn't my husband's favourite and I probably won't make it again. If it was just for myself I would because I actually liked the outcome but it's too much for just a single person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Wonderful! I did double the receipe and made it in a large crock pot. The only thing I will change next time is to add some additional spice. After cooking all day it didn't have the spice I prefer in Thai food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This wasn't what I expected at all. I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought the final product was bland and greasy. The dark meat chicken doesn't combine well with the coconut milk and peanut butter. I expected at least some sweetness and some heat, and neither came through. My family all didn't care for it either, and we love Thai food. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
What an eccletic combination of salsa and peanut butter. Who would of thought but my family and especially my mother really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The chicken itself was great, very tender, but the sauce was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I thought this recipe sounded great. However, I used the recommended cooking time and the sauce tasted burnt and had darkened on the bottom of my crock pot. In addition, there was a lot of fat in the sauce. Next time I wll reduce cooking time and will also use boneless skinless. With a little tweaking, this recipe will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I didn't have any hot salsa, so I used 2 Tbsp of Sriracha instead and a whole can of coconut milk. I also used Thai basil in place of cilantro. I served this over Asian Coconut rice. My version was spicy and a little sweet. This was easy and I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I did not find a lot Thai about this recipe. It was not as flavorable as I expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States