Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I'm a "heavy spicer" and this dish just did not have the full flavor I was looking for. It had a bit too much ginger for my taste. My husband and kids were not too thrilled with it either. It's not a bad dish and was very easy to make, it is just not for my pallet so I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Replaced the salsa with sarachi. Very good. Husband and I love Thai and this is a great crock-pot at home substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is one of the best dishes I've come across on this site! It was absolutely wonderful, and just enough spice! As most people so, I "doctored" it up a little bit... adding the full can of coconut milk and a tad bit more peanut butter... but other than that I wouldn't have changed a thing! I will double my recipe next time because me and my boyfriend we're very upset when we ran out of leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Great dish for the amount of prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was very bland...I followed the instructions to the letter but, I ended up adding a tablespoon of fish sauce, 3/4 cup more salsa and tripled the lime juice. I also shredded the chicken as soon as it was done and added it back to the crockpot. Shredding it and adding it back after doctoring the sauce made a big difference. The chicken absorbed sauce and made the chicken even more flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved this over rice, but mine turned out soupy so my kids were put off by it. they would only eat a little bit. I do not know why mine was so runny. I followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was delicious! The only changes (and they were minor) I made were to use boneless chicken thighs, mild salsa and creamy peanut butter since that's what I had on hand. I was skeptical of the seemingly odd combo of flavors -- salsa, peanut butter, lime juice, etc -- but the result was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I cooked this on the stove top. I used Siracha and creamy peanut butter, with chopped peanuts as a garnish, and actually used milk instead of coconut milk (I had run out oops!). I did add some chicken broth and some really good fish oil. Seemed to be missing something and I'm not convinced it was the missing coconut milk. Will keep this recipe but will need to play around with it to get it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I tried this recipe the other night to try out my new slow cooker. The chicken turned out very n tender which was great but the flavour of the rest of the ingredients was a little bitter. I thought about it and I think it was because I use only natural peanut butter (no salt, sugar) which has a naturally sort of bitter taste as opposed to say, Skippy. Because of this it wasn't my husband's favourite and I probably won't make it again. If it was just for myself I would because I actually liked the outcome but it's too much for just a single person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Wonderful! I did double the receipe and made it in a large crock pot. The only thing I will change next time is to add some additional spice. After cooking all day it didn't have the spice I prefer in Thai food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States