Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
What an eccletic combination of salsa and peanut butter. Who would of thought but my family and especially my mother really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The chicken itself was great, very tender, but the sauce was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I thought this recipe sounded great. However, I used the recommended cooking time and the sauce tasted burnt and had darkened on the bottom of my crock pot. In addition, there was a lot of fat in the sauce. Next time I wll reduce cooking time and will also use boneless skinless. With a little tweaking, this recipe will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I didn't have any hot salsa, so I used 2 Tbsp of Sriracha instead and a whole can of coconut milk. I also used Thai basil in place of cilantro. I served this over Asian Coconut rice. My version was spicy and a little sweet. This was easy and I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I did not find a lot Thai about this recipe. It was not as flavorable as I expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Amazing! Usually my attempts at slow cooking are bland failures, but this turned out incredible. The *only* problem I had was that the sauce never thickened... but that easily could have been my fault. It was still delicious over jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My first review because it was so yummy and easy thanks to the crockpot. I added a little more sugar, some hot pepper flakes and basil but skipped the peanut/cilantro topping. Kept going back to the pot for more. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I have to agree, I was skeptical. The only thing I did differently is I used mild salsa (because that's what I had) and I used natural peanut butter (because that's all I buy). It was good! I will definately put this in my rotation. It's not strictly Thai if you are a Thai food conniseur, but it is a really great kids-friendly recipe, especially if they are not used to the flavors. My 2 year old loved it. I love Thai food, so it was a wonderful middle ground between something I appreciate as Thai and something she will eat. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I admit that I was skeptical about the combination of salsa and peanut butter when I first read this recipe, but it was fantastic! My changes were very minor: I used a whole can of regular coconut milk, 1 T. of ginger paste (I didn't have any fresh ginger), brown sugar in place white, about 1 T. dried cilantro mixed with the rest of the sauce and just before serving added peas. We served this over white rice and it was so delicious! My boys (4 and 6) gave it two thumbs up :) Now that's what I like to hear at dinnertime. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
if you want real Thai food, this isn't it. BUT it's a wonderfully easy weeknight meal that is full of Thai flavors. It felt weird to be mixing salsa and peanut butter together, but it was great. In the end we topped it with sauted onions and garlic and I think that would have been great cooked in the sauce. Also, I do not usually cook with much salt, but I did find that a light sprinkle on the plate made the flavors pop! The man said 5 stars, which makes us both happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States