Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The flavors in this recipe were fantastic, but I devoted almost the whole day to this crock recipe, but the cook time was too long. I followed the directions for cooking time (8 hours), and setting (low), but the chicken thighs were so over-cooked that they were virtually paste, and the sauce was thin and oily. I'll try this again because I must have done something wrong, but I will definitely cook the dish for less time - probably 5-6 hours on low, to see if that helps the consistency. The flavors were really amazing, and I served it over jasmine rice with some soy and maple-marinated baked tofu bites. So I will come back and adjust my rating if I can get the sauce and cook times adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is a go to recipe for me. We love it in my family. We do add sambal olek after cooking to individual taste to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
SO great it was the first thing I made in a slowcooker (got one for christmas) and I am really happy. So Yummy and really easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessPdx

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was amazing! I read the reviews first and made the following alterations: added a little more peanut butter (used creamy), added a little more lite coconut milk, added some fish sauce (probably 1 or 2 tablespoons), added Sriracha hot sauce (probably 1-2 tablespoons) and added an extra tablespoon or two of limes. I also shredded the chicken and let it cook for an additional hour or so. I mixed in peas at the end and served it over brown rice -- amazingly tasty (albeit not low fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Easy and tasty recipe. I added some Sriracha hot sauce as others recommended. I placed all the thighs on the bottom for me and then for hubby put in a chicken breast on the top. I only had smooth peanut butter so that's what I used. After combining these strange ingredients it was going to be a hit or miss. I loved it! It sauce could of been a bit thicker but it sure was tasty and the meat on the thighs melted in your mouth. So good! My hubby thought it was too bland and the sauce was too runny. I served it over basmati rice. I'm basing the review on my taste buds not hubbys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this for a Thai themed party, and everyone raved about this dish!! It was super easy to make, and everyone was impressed. I cut the chicken thighs into smaller pieces so it could be quickly served over rice, then quadrupled the recipe, added sriracha hot sauce, and cooked on high for 4 hours. It turned out perfect!! I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I have to first say that none of my children liked this dish-but they are 9 and under. They couldn't get past the looks of it. That being said, I used lite coconut milk and mild salsa and i really enjoyed the flavor. The thighs were a little overcooked at 8.5 hrs on low so i would probably try to go 7.5 hrs and shred them when done cooking. Also, my husband thought that the leftover sauce could be used as the base for a soup; there was a lot of extra sauce. I thought that the sauce would be good on something crunchy like napa or savoy cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This turned out really well - thanks for sharing and we will definitely be making again when it is a slow-cooker kinda day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
sooo yummy! I was missing some key ingredients and had to substitute them, but it turned out very good regardless, and I can't wait to try it out with all the right ingredients! I didn't have any coconut milk so I substituted yogurt. I used mild salsa instead of hot b/c I never have the hot stuff in my house! so I put a little chili pepper flakes on top when it was in the crock pot. I just saw now that I also had forgotten to put soy sauce in!!! :( well I just can't wait to try it out again it'll be so much better!I didn't have cilantro either. and I used lemon juice instead of lime. It was all very saucy, so delicious, we used the extra sauce to put over the rice. I made basmati rice with curry and also put some peas & carrots in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes from this site! I use chicken breasts and put them in frozen in the morning since I go to work at 7am. The chicken falls apart and is shredded in the delicious sauce when I get home and stir it! Like other reviewers, I use a full can of coconut milk. Last night I tried stirring a bunch of baby spinach leaves about 10 minutes before serving over a brown rice/quinoa mix. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States