Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I liked this recipe, but did make some changes. Since I mixed the sauce before adding boneless/skinless chicken thighs, I was able to adjust to taste. This is what I changed, anything not mentioned I left as in the original: 1 cup hot salsa 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter 1 can light coconut milk 1 lime, juiced 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger - only because I bought too small of a chunk. I like heat, so I added a LOT of extra Sriracha. Not sure exactly how much it ended up being, as I kept adding it by the tablespoon to taste. Probably at least 6 tablespoons. Cooked on Low for 6.5 hours. Towards the end I saw (as others have noted) that it was quite thin, so I added about 1/2 cup of Bisquik to thicken it up. In addition to the peanuts and cilantro, I added some toasted coconut chips as a garnish. Turned out quite tasty over jasmine rice. The chicken did break down completely, so maybe only about 4 hours on low if you don't like that. It smelled AMAZING while cooking. Next time I'll add even more peanut butter, and might use regular coconut milk. I love crockpot recipes, and this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was a great recipe. I had to modify based on ingredients on-hand. I didn't have coconut milk - I swear I did at some point. Anyway - I used a Thai curry jarred sauce I had on hand with coconut milk in it. I used half the ginger because I was fearful of being too spicy but I will go with recommended 2 TBL next time. Also, I had a whole chicken which I split down the middle & flattened out and it took little more than 1/2 the time recommended. Served over brown rice with sauted veggies on the side & salad. The reason I gave it a 4 star and not 5 is the sodium level is extremely high so use low sodium where you can. The fat level was a bit much - but it didn't stop me from enjoying the recipe. Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was okay. The combination of flavors is great and the chicken came out super tender. But, there was something about the consistency I just didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Pretty darned good. Used whole can of coconut milk and added more peanut butter. Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Bland. Sadly, *woefully* bland. I made this dish using suggestions from the most helpful reviewers and added vegetables (potato, red bell pepper, carrots, and onion). I used 3 TBSP of Sriracha instead of the salsa, brown sugar instead of white, and 1 can of full-fat coconut milk. I cooked on high for 4 hours. The curry never thickened. The only thing that saved the dish was adding curry powder and salt to our plates. My husband and I love Thai food, and we were very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was so good! The entire family enjoyed it. It was even better the next day. I used peach mango salsa because that's what I had, but didn't change anything else. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was one of the best crock pot recipes I've tried in awhile! It was great! Wonderful flavors and something different to try for those less adventurous cooks. I didn't use the sugar and used mild Pace salsa (would try medium next time) and used 2 tsp ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovetoBake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
PB was overpowering in this dish. I made it exactly as written, without however the peanut topping as it was already over-powering. We use all natural PB, so that may have been the difference. Regular PB does not have a really strong taste because of all the oils and sugars and the like. It was a very easy dish to make. My one child liked it, but the rest of us found it bland and like eating straight up warm PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I was skepitcal. My husband lived in Thailand. Subsequently we eat a lot of Thai food. This was fabulous! My whole family loved it. Its easy and delicious. Will probably make more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States